2000 GUINEAS 1880

The 72nd winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 28th April 1880 over the Rowley Mile, was Petronel (20/1), a black colt by Musket out of Crythsia, owned by the 8th Duke of Beaufort. The winner won by a head in 1 minute 52 secs, with 3/4 length back to the third. A field of 17 runners contested the race which was worth £4,850 (Equivalent to £552,900 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
PETRONEL George Fordham Joe Cannon 8th Duke of Beaufort 20/1
MUNCASTER F Webb Duke of Westminster 9/2
THE ABBOT H Luke Mr Richard C Naylor 10/1
BEAUMINET Hudson Mr C J Lefevre 10/1
BROTHERHOOD J Snowden Mr H E Beddington 9/4
ZEALOT John Osborne Lord Bradford 10/1
MERRY-GO-ROUND Fred Archer Lord Falmouth 20/1
FERNANDEZ Morbey Mr F Gretton 50/1
MARINER Tom Cannon Mr F Gretton 100/8
CLARENCIEUX H Jeffery Mr C S Hardy 40/1
FLEURET Sherratt Count Frederic de Lagrange 100/1
MILAN Jem Goater Count Frederic de Lagrange 100/6
REGNARD J Morris Mr L de Rothschild 100/1
BOUGHTON Charles Wood Captain C Patrick 100/1
MELFORT Hopkins Mr Towneley Parker 100/1
MASK Rossiter Prince Soltykoff 100/7
NAPSBURY W Platt Mr H F Clare Vyner 100/1
Note: The image above is shown courtesy of the issuing cigarette company Allen & Ginter Over Round 115%