2000 GUINEAS 1881

The 73rd winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 4th May 1881 over the Rowley Mile, was Peregrine (15/2), a brown colt by Pero Gomez out of Adelaide, owned by the 1st Duke of Westminster. The winner won by 3 lengths in 1 minute 49 secs, with 1 1/2 lengths back to the third. A field of 14 runners contested the race which was worth £6,150 (Equivalent to £682,700 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
PEREGRINE Fred Webb Robert Peck 1st Duke of Westminster 15/2
IROQUIS Morgan Mr P Lorillard 100/1
DON FULANO Charles Wood Mr J R Keene 100/1
CAMELIARD Snowden Lord Rosebery 11/2
SCOBELL Tom Cannon Prince Soltykoff 7/2
WANDERING NUN John Osborne Mr Chaplin 8/1
GOLDEN PLOVER Fred Archer Lord Falmouth 11/2
LENNOXLOVE Morbey Lord Falmouth 50/1
MASKELYNE Jem Goater Count Frederic de Lagrange 50/1
TRISTAN George Fordham Mr Lefevre 7/1
PASSAIC John Day Mr P Lorillard 50/1
CUMBERLAND W Macdonald Captain Machell 16/1
TOWN MOOR Rossiter Lord Rosebery 16/1
NAPOLEON V Tom Chaloner Mr B Ellam 100/1
Note: The image opposite is shown courtesy of the issuing cigarette company Salmon & Gluckstien. Over Round 108%