2000 GUINEAS 1925

The 117th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 29th April 1925 over the Rowley Mile, was Manna (100/8), a bay colt by Phalaris out of Waffles, owned by Henry Morriss. The winner won by 2 lengths in 1 minute 39.40 secs, with a further 2 lengths back to the third. A field of 13 runners contested the race which was worth £5,050 (Equivalent to £282,300 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
MANNA Steve Donoghue Fred Darling Henry Morriss 100/8
ST BECAN E C Elliott Sir G Bullough 9/1
OOJAH Charlie Smirke Sir E Hulton 10/1
RUNNYMEDE Joe Childs HM King George V 10/1
FOXLAW J Evans Sir Abe Bailey 40/1
BUCELLAS H Jelliss Mr J P Hornung 20/1
MARKSMAN Freddie Fox Mr J B Joel 40/1
ZIONIST Brownie Carslake HH Aga Khan 6/5
SUN GOD II F O'Neill Mr A K Macomber 100/6
MOTLEY Tommy Weston Mr P Bellis 40/1
SCLARIO M Beary Mr J Rutherford 7/1
DALMAGARRY Fred Winter Mr V C Thompson 40/1
FIELD ARGENT R Jones Mrs S Whitburn 25/1
Note: The image opposite is shown courtesy of the issuing cigarette card company. Over Round 114%