2000 GUINEAS 1930

The 122nd winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 7th May 1930 over the Rowley Mile, was Diolite (10/1), a brown colt by Diophon out of Needle Rock, owned by Sir Hugo Hirst. The winner won by 2 lengths in 1 minute 42.40 secs, with a further length back to the third. A field of 28 runners contested the race which was worth £5,050 (Equivalent to £294,400 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
DIOLITE Freddie Fox Fred Templeman Sir Hugo Hirst 10/1
PARADINE R Perryman Mr W M Cazalet 33/1
SILVER FLARE Charlie Elliott Major Courtauld 25/1
TREWS Dick Lord Astor 100/6
PEGASUS S Wragg Mrs Chester Beatty 100/1
MEISTERSINGER J Leach Mr S W Beer 33/1
SEA ROVER M Wing Mr A R Cox 33/1
CAERLEON Tommy Weston Lord Derby 5/1
POOR LAD Harry Wragg Sir H Cunliffe-Owen 100/1
SINGAPORE Gordon Richards Captain T Hogg 100/1
CASSEROLE H Leach Mr J W Harvie 100/1
BARGANY Joe Childs Lord Howard de Walden 10/1
CHARGER Brownie Carslake Sir C Hyde 100/7
POLVERAJA Fred Winter Mr Sol Joel 100/1
BLENHEIM M Beary HH Aga Khan 10/1
BLUE TRAIN F Lane Mr H R Lawrence 100/1
STRONGBOW Steve Donoghue Lt-Colonel Giles Loder 100/7
CHRISTOPHER ROBIN P Beasley Lt-Colonel Giles Loder 100/8
PARTHENON Baines Mr A K Macomber 100/1
EYES FRONT James Sir G Noble 100/1
REDESWOOD Nevett Sir L Parkinson 25/1
SEER H Jelliss Mr G G H Peck 100/6
TETRAGEM H Beasley Mr T Richardson 100/1
RAMESES THE SECOND C Ray Mr Washington Singer 25/1
PAL O'MINE J Taylor Sir E Tate 20/1
ILIAD R Jones Mr S Tattersall 28/1
KING BALDWIN J Dines Mrs F Wallace 100/1
LANSDOWNE C Richards Captain T Hogg 100/1
Note: The image above is shown courtesy of the issuing cigarette card company Taddy & Co. Over Round 118%