2000 GUINEAS 1940

The 132nd winner of the 'New 2000 Guineas Stakes', held on Wednesday 1st May 1940 over the Bunbury Mile of the July Course, was Djebel (9/4 fav), a bay colt by Tourbillon out of Loika, owned by Marcel Boussac. The winner won by 2 lengths in 1 minute 42.6 secs, with a head back to the third. A field of 21 runners contested the race which was worth £7500 (Equivalent to £450,000 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
DJEBEL Charlie Elliott Albert Swann Marcel Boussac 9/4
STARDUST Harry Wragg HH Aga Khan III 100/9
TANT MIEUX Gordon Richards Maharajah of Kolhapur 13/2
BALDARROCH Tommy Weston Colonel S Hardie 50/1
BLADEN W Nevett Mr William Woodward 50/1
BON ACCORD J Marshall Mr W Downes 50/1
CONGRATULATIONS M Beary Sir Victor Sassoon 50/1
EL MOROCCO W Sibbritt HH Maharaja Sida of Owalior 50/1
EPILOBEURN R A Jones Sir Jack Jarvis 33/1
FAIR TEST P Beasley Lord Portal 9/1
HIPPIUS Eph Smith Lord Rosebery 20/1
LIGHTHOUSE II R Perryman Lord Derby 7/2
LUCULLUS T Bartlam Duke of Norfolk 50/1
PRINCE TETRA A Wragg Lord Hirst 10/1
ROMULUS F Lane Miss Dorothy Paget 50/1
RIDLEY W Bullock Captain Wilbrahams 33/1
SAGUENAY J Taylor Mr R Clark 50/1
TURKHAN Charlie Smirke HH Aga Khan 33/1
THROUGH THE MIST Cliff Richards Lord Astor 50/1
THE DRUID Doug Smith Mr J V Rank 100/6
NUIT DE NOCE C Bouillon Baron E de Rothschild 40/1
Note: The image above is shown courtesy of the issuing cigarette card company. Over Round 135%