2000 GUINEAS 1951

The 143rd winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 2nd May 1951 over the Rowley Mile, was Ki Ming (100/8), a brown colt by Ballyogan out of Ulster Lily, owned by Mr Ley On. The winner won by 1 1/2 lengths in 1 minute 42 secs, with a short head back to the third. A field of 27 runners contested the race which was worth £14,631 (Equivalent to £460,900 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
KI MING Scobie Breasley M Beary Mr Ley On 100/8
STOKES G Younger N Bertie Sir Victor Sassoon 33/1
MALKA'S BOY W Cook W Nightingall Mr H E Elvin 40/1
PARADISE STREET Edgar Britt Captain Charles Elsey Lord Allendale 25/1
THE CHAMP P Maher H Leach Mr M H Benson 50/1
DAMTAR W Johnstone M M Boussac M M Boussac 9/2
NORTH CAROLINA Tommy Gosling Captain Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Mrs J F C Bryce 20/1
CALUMET FARM T Hawcroft W Nightingall Mr P T Cozzika 50/1
SUN PRINCE W T Evans Captain Charles Elsey Mr N P Donaldson 50/1
PRINCE D'OUILLY J Doyasbere Warden Mr F Dupre 22/1
SUN COMPASS W Rickaby Jack Jarvis Mr W C Gordon 100/8
MANHATTAN Lester Piggott Ken Cundell Mrs S Jacobson 20/1
KING CARDINAL Joe Sime J F Watts Mr H J Joel 25/1
BAKSHISHI J Thompson Harry Wragg HH Aga Khan 50/1
NERON Charlie Smirke Marsh HH Aga Khan 50/1
EL AYASHY Doug Smith Marsh HH Aga Khan 40/1
ROYAL SERENADE Charlie Elliott Harry Wragg Mrs G Kohn 18/1
HAMPDEN FOREST Gord Richards Noel Murless Major R Macdonald-Buchanan 100/7
ARCTIC PRINCE C Spares W Stephenson Mr J McGrath 40/1
GREY SOVEREIGN M Molony Michael Beeby Mr J K Measures 20/1
LLANSTEPHAN Manny Mercer Jack Jarvis Lord Milford 50/1
WHINSAIRE W Marland J R Neill Mr J R Neill 50/1
TITIAN N Sellwood Atty Persse Lord Sefton 100/7
GAYOWEN R Fawden H Leader Mrs J B Walker 50/1
TURCO II W H Carr Captain Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Mr Woodward 7/1
TURKS RELIANCE T Lowrey R A Jones Mr F Wright 50/1
LORD OF VERONA W Nevett H Peacock Lord Zetland 33/1
      Over Round 126%