2000 GUINEAS 1952

The 144th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 30th April 1952, was Thunderhead II (100/7), a chestnut colt by Merry Boy out of Herodiade, owned by M Eugene Constant. The winner won by 5 lengths in 1 minute 42.48 secs, with half a length back to the third. A field of 26 runners contested the race which was worth £13,400 (Equivalent to £387,300 in 2017)


The following 2000 Guineas 1952 clip is a 1 min 25 secs clip from Youtube

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
THUNDERHEAD II Roger Poincelet Etienne Pollet M Eugene Constant 100/7
KING'S BENCH Tommy Gosling M Peakes Mr A J Tompsett 22/1
ARGUR Charlie Elliott Alec Head M M Boussac 8/1
AGITATOR Gordon Richards Noel Murless Mr J A Dewar 9/4
REGO E Fordyce Etwell Mr B A Abbott 50/1
GLOBE OF LIGHT Stan Clayton W Pratt Mr R L Basse 100/1
SIGNIFICATION Tommy Lowery J Pearce Mr Alex Bird 50/1
ORGOGLIO Edgar Britt Captain Charles Elsey Mr Phil Bull 33/1
CASTLETON J Marshall Tommy Carey Mr T H Carey 25/1
DJEBEL-HALLOUF W R Johnstone France Comte de Chambure 25/1
FIERY TORCH Doug Smith H Peacock Mr R S Clark 66/1
MAC GIN Eph Smith W Nightingall Mr C W Bell 100/1
PALPITATE W Nevett Perryman Mr J E Ferguson 100/1
MADISON G Littlewood H Leach Lt-Colonel N E Friezes 100/1
JOE'S FLYER P Evans J E Davis Mrs M Dundas 100/1
ARARAT II J Doyasbere France Mr L L Lawrence 50/1
SPEECHMAKER F Barlow Atty Persse Major D McCalmont 100/1
SUMMER RAIN Manny Mercer Jack Jarvis Lord Milford 100/1
CAERLAVEROCK Frankie Durr W Smyth Duke of Norfolk 28/1
SUPREMACY C Spares Peter Walwyn Miss Dorothy Paget 100/1
GAY TIME Lester Piggott Tom Cannon Mrs J V Rank 25/1
BOB MAJOR W Rickaby Jack Jarvis Lord Rosebery 4/1
CHAVEY BROWN W H Carr Captain Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Mr R W Sharples 40/1
MERRY MINSTREL P Maher R Jarvis Mr H J Simms 66/1
WORDEN II M Lollierou France Mr R B Strassburger 28/1
KHOR-MOUSA Ken Gethin P Thrale Mr S T Tate 33/1
      Over Round 17%