2000 GUINEAS 1955

The 147th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 27th April 1955 over the Rowley Mile, was Our Babu (13/2), a bay colt by My Babu out of Glen Line, owned by Mr David Robinson. The winner won by a neck in 1 minute 38.83 secs, with a short head back to the third. A field of 23 runners contested the race which was worth £10,600 (Equivalent to £267,800 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
OUR BABU Doug Smith Geoffrey Brooke Mr David Robinson 13/2
TAMERLANE Scobie Breasley N Bertie Lord Porchester 5/1
KLAIRON J Deforge France Mme J Couturie 28/1
ALEXANDER W H Carr Captain Cecil Boyd-Rochfort HM The Queen 100/6
GLADIATOR Roger Poincelet France M J de Atucha 22/1
GOLDEN PLANET Eph Smith Fred Winter Mr P Bartholomew 28/1
MARWARL E J Cracknell W Nightingall Mr C W Bell 66/1
BEAU PRINCE S Boullenger France M G Wildenstein 66/1
TIME TO REASON Lester Piggott Arthur Budgett Mr R S Clark 40/1
SOLEIL ROYAL M Larraun France Mme J Couturie 20/1
ROYAL PALM Willie Snaith F Armstrong Mr J S Gerber 25/1
JINKY D L Jones Kouvoumdjian Mr I Guise 66/1
LYCIDAS Ken Gethin A Smyth Mr William Hill 40/1
NOBLE CHIEFTAIN F Barlow H Cottrill Major L B Holliday 66/1
FACTORY Jimmy Lindley F Armstron Mr Claude Leigh 66/1
NONCHALANCE W Rickaby Jack Jarvis Mr J A C Lilley 25/1
FLYING STORY W Nevett Ireland Mr J McGrath 22/1
BAYYMARTIAL J Eddery Ireland Mr J McGrath 100/8
WINDSOR SUN P Powell Ireland Mr J McGrath 50/1
NUCLEUS Manny Mercer Jerdein Miss Dorothy Paget 50/1
MY SMOKEY Tommy Gosling J Watts Mr David Robinson 66/1
AMERIC Charlie Smirke France Mr R B Strassburger 9/1
TUDOR JINKS J Wilson M Feakes Mr A J Tompsett 40/1
      Over Round 104%