2000 GUINEAS 1964

The 156th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 29th April 1964 over the Rowley Mile, was Baldric (20/1), a bay colt by Round Table out of Two Cities, owned by Mrs Howell Jackson. The winner won by 2 lengths in 1 minute 38.44 secs, with a length back to the third. A field of 27 runners contested the race which was worth £40,302, a record prize (Equivalent to £773,400 in 2017)


The following 2000 Guineas 1964 clip is a 2 min 37 secs clip from Youtube

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
BALDRIC II Bill Pyers Ernie Fellows Mrs Howell Jackson 20/1
FABERGE Joe Mercer F Maxwell Mr N H Wachman 28/1
BALUSTRADE W Williamson Harry Wragg Mr R B Moller 28/1
ARTHUR SULLIVAN D L Jones A Gilbert Mrs C R Berling 66/1
MARCO POLO L Ward T Shaw (Ire) Mrs A B Biddle 10/1
PICCADILLY Geoff Lewis Jeremy Tree Mr Charles W Englehard 40/1
CASSABLANCA Lester Piggott Noel Murless Mr Coloer 33/1
PELLOFAIR Eric Eldin W Gray Mr M H Barber 66/1
DESAIX Wally Swinburn T Corbett Mr R Berry 66/1
FRIGOLET Ron Hutchinson Jack Jarvis Mr T F Blackwell 18/1
MINOR PORTION Jimmy Lindley Jeremy Tree Sir Philip Dunn 20/1
NEWS ITEM W H Carr Wharton Major L B Holliday 66/1
GENTLE ART Eph Smith Jack Jarvis Mr Adrian Jarvis 100/6
SIGNAL ROCKET Edward Hide W Elsey Mr H J Joel 33/1
COOLROY Roger Poincelet Walter Nightingall Mr A Kennedy 66/1
PERSIAN SPARK J Purnell M Vincent O'Brien Mr C Kohn 40/1
BURNING TORCH P Robinson G Lambton Mrs O Lambton 40/1
PORT MERION Scobie Breasley Gordon Richards Major R Macdonald-Buchanan 11/2
COLD SLIPPER J Roe S McGrath Mr J McGrath 66/1
PENNY STALL Duncan Keith Walter Nightingall Lady Marsh 28/1
ACER R P Elliott Harry Wragg Mr A Pleach 66/1
SHOWDOWN Doug Smith Fred Winter Mrs D Prees 5/1 fav
DERRING-DO Yves Saint-Martin Arthur Budgett Mrs H H Renshaw 100/8
DJEL Frankie Durr T Gosling Mr L Bennett 18/1
KINGS PETITION G W Robinson C Pratt Mr F C Thrush 66/1
EXCEL M Goole C Bartholomew (Fr) Mme Leon Volterra 28/1
TAKAWALK P Gleeson E Pollet (Fr) Mrs P A B Walker 18/1
      Over Round 122%