2000 GUINEAS 1966

The 158th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 27th April 1966 over the Rowley Mile, was Kashmir (7/1), a brown colt by Tudor Melody out of Queen of Speed, owned by Mr Peter Butler. The winner won by a short head in 1 minute 40.68 secs, with 2 1/2 lengths back to the third. A field of 25 runners contested the race which was worth £30,595 (Equivalent to £544,600 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
KASHMIR Jimmy Lindley Mick Bartholomew Mr Peter Butler 7/1
GREAT NEPHEW W Rickaby Jack Jarvis Mr J P Phillips 66/1
CELTIC SONG D Lake Paddy Prendergast Mr M Rayne 100/6
DEB'S PANIC R P Elliot Reg Akehurst Mrs M A Byrne 66/1
MONT BLANC Brian Jago Walter Nightingall Mr Charles Clore 40/1
RAMSINGA Scobie Breasley E Pollet (Fr) Mr G Deloye 13/1
AMBERICOS Joe Mercer M Vincent O'Brien Mrs A Ford 33/1
LUCKY BISCUIT Brian Taylor H Leader Sir Francis Glyn 28/1
COPSALE L G Brown Ron Smyth Mr H F Hartley 28/1
RAKET Duncan Keith Walter Nightingall Mr W Harvey 22/1
VILLAGE SQUARE Bill Pyers E Fellows (Fr) Mrs H E Jackson 10/1
PERSIAN EMPIRE Jimmy Lindley T Leader Mr H J Joel 100/6
MARANDIS Bruce Raymond H Cottrill Mr Stanhope Joel 66/1
REGAL LIGHT Joe Sime Sam Hall Mrs L G Lazaros 33/1
PRETENDRE Paul Cook Jack Jarvis Mr J A C Lilley 9/4 fav
GALLIC Stan Clayton R Johnson-Houghton Mr C L Loyd 66/1
BIN ELLE Wally Swinburn Oughton Mr P A C McDonald 66/1
TRACK SPARE J Sharman R Mason Mr R E Mason 50/1
DREVNO Greville Starkey F Maxwell Mr Freddie Maxwell 25/1
PEACH Yves Saint-Martin F Mathet (Fr) Mr A Pleach 33/1
YOUNG EMPEROR Lester Piggott Paddy Prendergast Mrs Parker Poe 4/1
HIGH MARSHAL Doug Smith J Winter Mr D Prenn 40/1
BLUE STREAK W Williamson D Hanley Mr A J Richards 66/1
RYEMUSE S Casey Ashworth Mr A L Rye 66/1
CREPALIA Ron Hutchinson R Day Mr J W Weston-Evans 66/1
      Over Round 133%