2000 GUINEAS 1975

The 167th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Saturday 3rd May 1975 over the Rowley Mile, was Bolkonski (33/1), a chestnut colt by Balidar out of Perennial, owned by Carlo D'Alessio. The winner won by half a length in 1 minute 39.49 secs, with 3 lengths back to the third. A field of 24 runners contested the race which was worth £36,868 (Equivalent to £353,200 in 2017)


The following 2000 Guineas 1975 clip is a 1 min 45 secs clip from Youtube

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
BOLKONSKI Gianfranco Dettori Henry Cecil Carlo d'Alessio 33/1
GRUNDY Pat Eddery Peter Walwyn Dr Carlo Vittadini
DOMINION Ernie Johnson Arthur Budgett Colonel P L M Wright
AMERRICO Bruce Raymond Neville Callaghan M Brewer
ANNE'S PRETENDER Paul Cook H Ryan Price Sir Charles Clore
AUCTION RING Joe Mercer W R Hern Simon Weinstock
ESCAPOLOGIST Frankie Durr Arthur Budgett Mrs L Culverwell
GOLDEN SWAN Geoff Lewis Noel Murless Colonel F Hue-Williams
GREEN BELT Eric Eldin Harry Wragg Sir Philip Oppenheimer
IT'S FREEZING Christy Roche Prendergast Mr Waldhelm
LIBRA'S RIB Philip Waldron R Johnson-Houghton Mrs J Rodgers
LORD HA HA G Curran Kevin Prendergast P O'Leary
MARK ANTHONY Lester Piggott Clive Brittain Captain Marcos Lemos
NO ALIMONY Frank Morby Peter Walwyn Louis Freedman
PROSPECT RAINBOW Brian Taylor J Winter Mrs D McNab
RIVER BLUE Geordie Ramshaw J E Sutcliffe Mr F Barclay
ROYAL MANACLE Willie Carson Barry Hills Mr J Kettsley
SEA BREAK Yves Saint-Martin H Murless (Ire) D Coakley
SEFTON COURT Alan Kimberley Jeremy Hindley Mrs J Longbottom
SPEEDY DAKOTA Freddie Head Francois Boutin S Vanlon
STEEL HEART Eddie Hide Dermot Weld Mr Ravi Tikkoo
TOUCH OF GOLD Richard Marshall W Marshall Mrs N Lonsdale
WHIP IT QUICK Tony Murray H Ryan Price G Van Der Ploeg
WINDY GLEN J Roe Dermot Weld Mr J Brown
      Over Round N/A