2000 GUINEAS 1999

The 191st winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Saturday 1st May 1999 over the Rowley Mile, was Island Sands (10/1), a bay colt by Turtle Island out of Tiavanita, owned by Godolphin. The winner won by a neck in 1 minute 37.14 secs, with 1 1/4 lengths back in third. A field of 16 runners contested the race which was worth £171,800 (Equivalent to £278,300 in 2017)


The following 2000 Guineas 1999 clip is a 3 min 38 secs clip from Youtube

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
ISLAND SANDS Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 10/1
ENRIQUE Kieren Fallon Sir Henry Cecil Niarchos Family 7/1
MUJAHID Richard Hills John Dunlop Hamdan Al Maktoum 9/1
BRANCASTER T Quinn Peter Chapple-Hyam Highclere Thoroughbred Racing 20/1
GOLD ACADEMY Dane O'Neill Richard Hannon George E K Teo 66/1
BAHAMIAN BANDIT Olivier Peslier Richard Hannon Lucayan Stud 20/1
DEBBIES WARNING Gerald Mosse K Mahdi Greenfield Stud 66/1
EXEAT Darryll Holland John Gosden Lady Harrison 20/1
DESARU Gary Carter Jeremy Noseda K Y Lim 50/1
EASAAR Michael Roberts Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 25/1
COMMANDER COLLINS Jimmy Fortune Peter Chapple-Hyam Robert Sangster & A K Collins 8/1
RED SEA Dominique Boeuf Paul Cole HRH Prince Fahd Salman 33/1
COMPTON ADMIRAL Pat Eddery Gerard Butler Erik Penser 10/1
ALRASSAAM Philip Robinson Michael Jarvis Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 14/1
ORPEN Mick Kinane Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier 7/2
AUCTION HOUSE Michael Hills Barry Hills Khalid Abdullah 15/2
      Over Round 119%