2000 GUINEAS 2002

The 194th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Saturday 4th May 2002 over the Rowley Mile, was Rock of Gibraltar (9/1), a bay colt by Danehill out of Offshore Boom, owned by Sir Alec Ferguson. The winner won by a neck in 1 minute 36.50 secs, with 1 1/4 lengths back to the third. A field of 22 runners contested the race which was worth £174,000 (Equivalent to £264,500 in 2017)


The following 2000 Guineas 2002 clip is a 1 min 42 secs clip from Youtube

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
ROCK OF GIBRALTAR Johnny Murtagh Aidan O'Brien Sir Alec Ferguson 9/1
HAWK WING Jamie Spencer Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier 6/4
REDBACK Darryll Holland Richard Hannon The Waney Racing Group 25/1
ZIPPING Davy Bonilla Robert Collet R C Strauss 40/1
TWILIGHT BLUES Pat Eddery Brian Meehan Mrs Susan Roy 50/1
ARAMRAM Steve Drowne Mick Channon Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 50/1
COMPTON DRAGON Eddie Ahern Gerard Butler Erik Penser 66/1
MASSALANI Olivier Peslier Andre Fabre J-L Lagardere 7/1
KING OF HAPPINESS Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail 11/2
STEENBERG Ted Durcan Mark Tompkins Kenneth Macpherson 100/1
WHERES WHEN T Quinn T Mills John Humphreys Ltd 50/1
HO CHOI John Carroll Linda Perrett Alan Guthrie 100/1
LOVE REGARDLESS Kevin Darley Mark Johnstone M Doyle 12/1
NAHEEF Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 10/1
COSHOCTON Philip Robinson Michael Jarvis M A Jarvis 33/1
PARASOL Daragh O'Donohoe Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 100/1
BRAGADINO Michael Hills Sir Michael Stoute Athos Christodolou 66/1
SHOLOKHOV Pat Scallan Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier & Michael Tabor 100/1
MESHAHEER Richard Hills Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 25/1
TENDULKAR George Duffield Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier, Michael Tabor, Mrs David Nagle 16/1
RAPSCALLION J Tate James Eustace Jeff Smith 66/1
SWEET BAND Richard Hughes Ed Dunlop Abdulla Buhaleeba 50/1
      Over Round 130%