2000 GUINEAS 2003

The 195th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Saturday 3rd May 2003 over the Rowley Mile, was Refuse To Bend (9/2), a bay colt by Sadler's Wells out of Market Slide, owned by Moyglare Stud Farm. The winner won by 3/4 length in 1 minute 37.98 secs, with a head back to the third. A field of 20 runners contested the race which was worth £185,600 (Equivalent to £276,500 in 2017)


The following 2000 Guineas 2003 clip is a 2 min 33 secs clip from Youtube

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
REFUSE TO BEND Pat Smullen Dermot Weld Moyglare Stud Farm 9/2
ZAFEEN Steve Drowne Mick Channon Jaber Abdullah 33/1
NORSE DANCER Philip Robinson David Elsworth Jeff Smith 100/1
TOUT SEUL Steve Carson R Johnson-Houghton Eden Racing 7/1
SATURN Richard Hughes Michael Bell Highclere Thoroughbred Racing 50/1
MONSIEUR BOND P Scallan Bryan Smart R C Bond 100/1
HURRICANE ALAN Jimmy Fortune Richard Hannon Mrs D M Wright 20/1
TOMAHAWK Johnny Murtagh Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier & Michael Tabor 7/1
JAY GEE'S CHOICE Gary Carter Mick Channon John Guest 2001/
SONGLARK Jamie Spencer Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 14/1
MISTER LINKS Pat Eddery Richard Hannon Coriolan Links Partnership 66/1
MUQBIL Willie Supple John Dunlop Hamdan Al Maktoum 9/1
ROCKETS 'N ROLLERS Dane O'Neill Richard Hannon Michael Mulholland 100/1
INDIAN HAVEN John Egan Paul D'Arcy Peter Gleeson, Julian Smith, Loz Conway 20/1
AUDIENCE Kieren Fallon William Haggas Highclere Thoroughbred Racing 16/1
CHECKIT Chris Catlin Mick Channon Tim Corby 100/1
HOLD THAT TIGER Mick Kinane Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier & Michael Tabor 4/1
TIZZY MAY Seb Sanders Richard Hannon J R May 200/1
LUNDY'S LANE Olivier Peslier Clive Brittain Dubai Thoroughbred Racing 66/1
LATEEN SAILS Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 9/2
      Over Round 127%