2000 GUINEAS 2006

The 198th winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Saturday 6th May 2006 over the Rowley Mile, was George Washington (6/4 fav), a bay colt by Danehill out of Bordighera, owned by Mrs John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith. The winner won by 2 1/2 lengths in 1 minute 36.86 secs, with 1 1/2 lengths back to the third. A field of 14 runners contested the race which was worth £187,374 (Equivalent to £256,700 in 2017)


The following 2000 Guineas 2006 clip is a 1 min 10 secs clip from Youtube

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
GEORGE WASHINGTON Kieren Fallon Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier, Michael Tabor, Derrik Smith 6/4
SIR PERCY Martin Dwyer Marcus Tregoning A E Pakenham 4/1
OLYMPIAN ODYSSEY Jamie Spencer Barry Hills W J Gredley 33/1
ARAAFA Alan Munro Jeremy Noseda Saleh Al Homaizi & Imad Al Sagar 66/1
MISU BOND Tony Cullhane Bryan Smart R C Bond 66/1
FINAL VERSE Robert Winston Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail 50/1
AMADEUS WOLF Neil Callan Kevin Ryan Duddy McDonald, Heeney Irish National Stud 9/1
HORATIO NELSON Mick Kinane Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier & Mrs David Nagle 6/1
ASSET Richard Hughes Richard Hannon Highclere Thoroughbred Racing 10/1
CLOSE TO YOU Ian Mongan Terry Mills Miss J A Leighs 80/1
KILLYBEGS Michael Hills Barry Hills Godolphin 16/1
RED CLUBS Richard Hills Barry Hills The Hon. R J Arculli 25/1
FROST GIANT Johnny Murtagh Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier, Tabor, Smith 50/1
OPERA CAPE Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 16/1
      Over Round 121%