2000 GUINEAS 2009

The 201st winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Saturday 2nd May 2009 over the Rowley Mile, was Sea The Stars (8/1), a bay colt by Cape Cross out of Urban Sea, owned by Christopher Tsui. The winner won by 1 1/2 lengths in 1 minute 35.88 secs, with 3/4 length back to the third. A field of 15 runners contested the race which was worth £241,840 (Equivalent to £297,500 in 2017)


The following 2000 Guineas 2009 clip is a 4 min 44 secs clip from Youtube

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
SEA THE STARS Mick Kinane John Oxx Christopher Tsui 8/1
DELEGATOR Jamie Spencer Brian Meehan Mrs P Good 3/1
GAN AMHRAS Kevin Manning Jim Bolger Mrs Jim Bolger & John Corcoran 15/2
RIP VAN WINKLE Johnny Murtagh Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier, Smith, Tabor 9/2
MASTER CRAFTSMAN Pat Smullen Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier, Smith, Tabor 7/1
EVASIVE Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Cheveley Park Stud 13/2
CHEERFUL DELIGHTS Richard Hughes Richard Hannon Leung Lun Ping 66/1
MONITOR CLOSELY Alan Munro Peter Chapple-Hyam Lawrie Inman 28/1
FINJAAN Tadhig O'Shea Marcus Tregoning Hamdan Al Maktoum 25/1
OCEAN'S MINSTREL Jerry O'Dwyer John Ryan W McLuskey 100/1
OUQBA Richard Hills Barry Hills Hamdan Al Maktoum 25/1
LORD SHANAKILL Jim Crowley Karl Burke Mogeely Stud & Mark T Gittins 14/1
ASHRAM Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 16/1
CITYSCAPE Steve Drowne Roger Charlton Khalid Abdullah 16/1
IMPERIAL GUEST John Egan George Margarson John Guest Racing 150/1
      Over Round 125%