Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: 1757
Final meeting: Wednesday 4th November 1903
The Welsh island of Anglesey seems an unlikely place for a racecourse given its challenging location, but racing was staged on the island as early as 1757. Meetings usually took place annually in the first week of November, in the early days being held at Tregarnedd Park, near Llangefni, with dinner served in the evening at the Bull’s Head Inn. Traditionally the principal race was the Anglesey Cup over 2 miles which was by Burnby on Wednesday 24th August 1825. The race was run in heats, although the bay horse, owned by Mr R R Williams, only needed two heats for victory to be declared over main rival Ferryman, owned by Mr J N Carleton. After 1827 the course moved to fields which were overlooked by Beaumaris Castle. The 10 furlong round course had a 2 furlong run in, and the principal race was the Anglesey Hunt Cup. In 1897 the Farmer’s Steeplechase resulted in a tragic fatality when Paton Priestley’s mount fell and he died from his injuries a day later. The Anglesey Cup was won in consecutive years by Craig Ard in 1901 and 1902, but within a year the course had closed after its final meeting on 4th November 1903.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 3 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Marquis of Anglesey, Sir Richard Williams-Bulkeley
Principal Races  Anglesey Hunt Cup, Carnarvon Cup

Wednesday 24th August 1825
The Anglesey Cup over 2 miles
1. Burnby, bay horse owned by Mr R R Williams 1 1
2. Ferryman, chestnut gelding owned by Mr J N Carleton 2 2

The final meeting took place on Wednesday 4th November 1903.
Course today Cattle still graze in the fields which once staged races behind Beaumaris Castle.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to