Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Tuesday 29th May 1860
Final meeting: Monday 5th June 1865
There are probably no races better known than the Blaydon races, immortalised in the famous 19th Century folk song,”As went te Blaydon races, t’was on the ninth of June….”, and the first meeting took place in the Northumbrian village of Blaydon on Tuesday 29th May 1860 at Stella Haugh, just a mile West of the town. Also mentioned in the song was a pub, The Red Adair, which was on the Scotswood Road adjacent to the racecourse. The inaugural meeting was a two day affair starting on Monday 28th May with a regatta, followed the next day by races featuring a Silver Cup, which was won by Mr William Cowen’s Cannie Fellow, defeating Gay Lad and Flint. Whilst the final meeting operating under the Jockey Club Rules of racing took place on Monday 5th June 1865, ‘flapping’ meetings, including one on Monday 30th May 188, continued until 1916.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons

Colonel J A Cowen, Major Joicey

Principal Races

Stella Stakes, Towneley Stakes, Licensed Victuallers Plate, Blaydon Stakes, Braes of Derwent Hunt Cup

Monday 30th May 1887

The Stella Stakes over a mile and a half
1. Bridget owned by Mr Johnson
2. The Minnow owned by Mr R Algood
3. Lord Derby owned by Mr Tom Smith

Braes of Derwent Hurdles Hunt Cup over 2 ½  miles
1. The Bailey owned by Mr H Grace
2. Prism owned by Mr R Murray

Whilst the final meeting operating under the Jockey Club Rules of racing took place on 5th June 1865, ‘flapping’ meetings, including the 1887 meeting shown above, continued until 1916.

Course today

On Stella Haugh, adjacent to the Red Adair pub. No evidence of the racecourse remains as the Stella South Power Station was built on the course in the mid 1950s.

If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to