Royal Ascot: Buckingham Palace Stakes

The Buckingham Palace Stakes, a flat handicap over 7 furlongs open to horses aged three and over, was established in 2002, when the Royal Ascot meeting was extended to a fifth day to mark the Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II and was named after the London residence of the British monarch. It was last run in 2014 and replaced from the 2015 Royal Ascot meeting by a new Group One sprint race, the Commonwealth Cup. In 2020, the race made a one-off return as part of an expanded Royal Ascot programme, following the 10-week suspension of horse racing in the United Kingdom due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Buckingham Palace Stakes Handicap was on Friday 21st June 2002 when won by the Khalid Abdullah owned Demonstrate, beating Lunar Leo and Kareeb by a length and half a length, with 24 others further adrift.

Over the entire history of the race 0% of favourites have been successful. (Lowest of all 32 Royal Ascot races)

Over the entire history of the race a level stakes bet on every favourite would have resulted in a 100% loss. (Worst of all 32 races)

Buckingham Palace Stakes Handicap 7 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
2002 DEMONSTRATE Richard Hughes John Gosden Khalid Abdullah 12/1
2003 ATTACHE Philip Robinson Michael Jarvis Mr J R Good 10/1
2004 UNSCRUPULOUS Oscar Urbina James Fanshawe Veitch/Unscrupulous Partners 8/1
2005 JEDBURGH Mick Kinane John Dunlop Earl Cadogan 8/1
2006 UHOOMAGOO Neil Callan Kevin Ryan J Duddy & T Fawcett 25/1
2007 BINANTI Franny Norton Patrick Chamings Mrs J E L Wright 33/1
2008 REGAL PARADE Ahmed Ajtebi David Nicholls Dab Hand Racing 25/1
2009 GIGANTICUS Michael Hills Barry Hills Cavendish Inv, Green, James 12/1
2010 TREADWELL Fergus Sweeney Jamie Osborne Mrs F Walwyn & A Taylor 14/1
2011 MANASSAS Martin Dwyer Brian Meehan Mrs R Phillips 12/1
2012 ETON FOREVER Neil Callan Roger Varian HRH Sultan Ahmad Shah 14/1
2013 LIGHTNING CLOUD Neil Callan Kevin Ryan Hambleton Racing 25/1
2014 LOUIS THE PIOUS Silvestre De Sousa David O'Meara Mr F Gillespie 33/1
15-19 The race was not staged between 2015 and 2019.
2020 MOTAKHAYYEL Jim Crowley Richard Hannon Hamdan Al Maktoum 14/1
2021 HIGHFIELD PRINCESS Jason Hart John Quinn Trainers House Enterprise 18/1
2022 INVER PARK Ben Curtis George Boughey Inver Park Partnership 12/1