Arkle Challenge Chase (Cotswold Chase)

The Arkle Challenge Trophy is a Grade 1 race open to 5-year-olds and above and is run on the Old Course over 2 miles and 13 fences. The race, named in honour of the Gold Cup winner Arkle, is for novices and is traditionally run as the second race on the opening day of the Festival, but was first introduced into the Festival programme in 1969 as a replacement for the Cotswold Chase, a race which was first run at the Festival in 1923 and still exists today, but is no longer part of the Festival programme.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Arkle Challenge Chase took place on Wednesday 19th March 1969 and was won by Chatham (10/1) trained by Fred Rimell and ridden by Terry Biddlecombe, beating Straight Fort (5/1) and King Dolphin (20/1) by 2 lengths and 8 lengths.

Over the entire history of the race 28% of favourites have been successful, placing the race 12th of the 28 current races.
Over the entire history of the race a level stake bet of £10 on every favourite would have resulted in a £270 loss, placing the race 26th of the current 28 races.
Over the entire history of the race the Irish have been successful 17% of occasions, placing the race 22nd of the 28 current races.

Arkle Challenge Chase (Cotswold Chase) Grade 1 2 miles
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1923 EUREKA II Robson Gore Lord Woolavington 4/1
1924 THE BLEEKA Fred Rees G Poole Mr M McKevitt 4/1
1925 SANCROFT E Foster Frank Brown Mr Graeme Thomson 9/4
1926 PREFACE Speck D Harrison Mr B Warner 3/1
1927 SPEAR O' WAR Fred Rees G Bennett Lord Queenborough 4/1
1928 MANITO E Davey E Davey Mr John Johnstone 100/6
1929 CURTAIN RAISER P Powell Burns Mrs Leake 5/1
1930 TEME SALMON Fred Rees Rimell Mr G Williams 9/2
Race not held due to severe frost causing postponment of entire Festival
1932 SOUTHAM G Owen Rimell Mr W Gresson 10/1
1933 READY CASH W Payne Payne Captain C A Cartwright Evens fav
1934 DELAPAIX W Kidney Beeby Mr J Snow 8/1
1935 JACK GRANGE J Ward Barthropp Sir A McAlpine 9/2
1936 BURNHAM JUNIOR G Turner Roberts Mrs N Roberts 100/8
1937 CYGNIS Evan Williams Ivor Anthony Mr A Masters 9/4 fav
1938 THE UPLIFTER R Burford Ivor Anthony Mr F Clark 100/8
1939 CASTLETOWN D Morgan Ivor Anthony Mr Ambrose Clark 11/8 fav
1940 A reduced Festival card meant that the Cotswold Chase was not run
1941 A reduced Festival card meant that the Cotswold Chase was not run
1942 GINGKO G Turner Herbert Blagrave Mr H Blagrave 7/1
Race not held in 1943, 1944 or 1945 due to Second World War
1946 BRIGHT PENNY Glen Kelly Bobby Norris Lord Abergavveny 5/1
1947 Race was not held due to frost and snow
1948 TOP CASH Glen Kelly Bobby Norris Lord Abergavveny 3/1
1949 GRAND REFRAIN Glen Kelly Bobby Norris Lord Abergavenny 9/4 fav
1950 HIGH LEVEL Johnny Bullock Fred Rimell Mr T E Ward 9/2
1951 RED STEEL Dick Francis Frank Cundell Mr H Sumner 4/1 fav
1952 NAUTICAL PRINT Tommy Cusack Gerry Wilson Lt-Colonel J F Harrison 6/1
1953 BRAMBLE TUDOR Tim Molony Stewart Wight Colonel Lord Joicey 11/4
1954 ARMORIAL III Rene Emery Fulke Walwyn Mrs M de P-Roose 7/2 fav
1955 MANUSCRIPT Johnny Bullock Fulke Walwyn Mrs K Hennessy 10/1
1956 SIR KEN Tim Molony Willie Stephenson Mr M Kingsley 5/4 fav
1957 BALLYATOM Bob McCreery George Beeby Mr D Evans-Bevan 8/1
1958 FORTRIA Tom Taaffe Tom Dreaper (Ire) Mr A Craigie 7/2
1959 FLAME GUN Fred Winter Charlie Mallon Mr Michael Sobell 7/2
1960 MAZURKA Ron Harrison Ron Smyth Mrs C Barnes 10/1
1961 MOUNTCASHEL KING Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper (Ire) Mr J Glyn 2/5 fav
1962 PRUDENT BARNEY Johnny East Bobby Renton Mrs Lurline Brotherton 20/1
1963 BEN STACK Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper (Ire) Duchess of Westminster 13/8 fav
1964 GREEKTOWN Michael Scudamore Willie Stephenson Mr L Ensten 13/2
1965 FLYINGBOLT Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper (Ire) Mrs T Wilkinson 4/9 fav
1966 ARCTIC SUNSET George Milburn Ken Oliver Mr J McNair 3/1
1967 ARCTIC STREAM Ben Hannon Pat Rooney Mr J Duffy 8/1
1968 THE HUSTLER Barry Brogan Earl Jones Mrs D E Crouch 20/1
1969 CHATHAM Terry Biddlecombe Fred Rimell Mr C Knott 10/1
1970 SOLONING Paul Kelleway Fred Winter Mrs C E Thornton 4/1
1971 ALPHEUS Eddie Wright Tom Dreaper Lord Donoughmore 15/1
1972 PENDIL Richard Pitman Fred Winter Mrs C Kinney 10/11 fav
1973 DENYS ADVENTURE Graham Thorner Tim Forster Mrs R Henriques 8/1
1974 CANASTA LAD Jeff King Peter Bailey Mrs D Hague 2/1 fav
1975 BRONCHO II Colin Tinkler Tony Dickinson Mr F Tyldesley 8/1
1976 ROARING WIND Reg Crank Roy Cambridge Mr Stan Jones 11/1
1977 TIP THE WINK Dessie Hughes Pat Taylor Mr M Simmonds 15/2
1978 ALVERTON Graham Thorner Peter Easterby Snailwell Stud Co Ltd 5/2
1979 CHINRULLAH Dessie Hughes Mick O'Toole Mrs R Eastwood 10/11 fav
1980 ANAGLOGS DAUGHTER Tommy Carberry Bill Durkan (Ire) Mrs A Durkan 9/4
1981 CLAYSIDE Alan Brown Peter Easterby Mrs D Grant 5/2 fav
1982 THE BROCKSHEE Tommy Carberry Arthur Moore (Ire) Mr T Murray 12/1
1983 RYEMAN Alan Brown Peter Easterby Mr D Slater 16/1
1984 BOBSLINE Frank Berry Franics Flood (Ire) Mr R Kelsey 5/4 fav
1985 BOREEN PRINCE Niall Madden Andrew McNamara (Ire) Mr W Lanehan 15/2
1986 OREGON TRAIL Ronnie Beggan Simon Christian Mr William Ponsonby 14/1
1987 GALA'S IMAGE Richard Linley Mercy Rimell Sheikh Abu Khamsin 25/1
1988 DANISH FLIGHT Mark Dwyer Jimmy Fitzgerald A F Budge Ltd 11/2
1989 WATERLOO BOY Richard Dunwoody David Nicholson Mr M R Deeley 20/1
1990 COMANDANTE Peter Hobbs Josh Gifford Mr Maurice Pinto 9/2
1991 REMITTANCE MAN Richard Dunwoody Nicky Henderson Mr J E H Collins 85/40 fav
1992 YOUNG POKEY Jamie Osborne Oliver Sherwood Mr M L Oberstein 4/1
1993 TRAVADO Jamie Osborne Nicky Henderson Mrs Michael Ennever 5/1
1994 NAKIR Jamie Osborne Simon Christian Mr Jim Lewis 9/1
1995 KLAIRON DAVIS Francis Woods Arthur Moore (Ire) Mr Chris Jones 7/2 fav
1996 VENTANA CANYON Richard Dunwoody Edward O'Grady (Ire) Mr Philip Myerscough 7/1
1997 OR ROYAL Tony McCoy Martin Pipe The Johnson Family 11/2
1998 CHAMPLEVE Tony McCoy Martin Pipe The Johnson Family 13/2
1999 FLAGSHIP UBERALLES Joe Tizzard Paul Nicholls E Gutner, M Krysztofiak 11/1
2000 TIUTCHEV Mick Fitzgerald Nicky Henderson The Liars Poker 8/1

Race was not held due to foot & mouth crisis

2002 MOSCOW FLYER Barry Geraghty Jessica Harrington Mr Brian Kearney 11/2
2003 AZERTYUIOP Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls Mr John Hales 5/4 fav
2004 WELL CHIEF Tony McCoy Martin Pipe The Johnson Family 9/1
2005 CONTRABAND Timmy Murphy Martin Pipe The Johnson Family 7/1
2006 VOY POR USTEDES Robert Thornton Alan King Sir Robert Ogden 15/2
2007 MY WAY DE SOLZEN Robert Thornton Alan King Winfield, Longman, Wright, Fenton 7/2
2008 TIDAL BAY Denis O'Regan Howard Johnson Andrea & Graham Wylie 6/1
2009 FORPADYDEPLASTERER Barry Geraghty Tom Cooper Goat Racing Syndicate 8/1
2010 SIZING EUROPE Andrew Lynch Henry De Bromhead (Ire) Ann & Alan Potts 6/1
2011 CAPTAIN CHRIS Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs Mrs Diana Whateley 6/1
2012 SPRINTER SACRE Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson Mrs Caroline Mould 8/11 fav
2013 SIMONSIG Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson Mr R A Bartlett 8/15 fav
2014 WESTERN WARHORSE Tom Scudamore David Pipe Mr R S Brookhouse 33/1
2015 UN DE SCEAUX Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins (Ire) Edward O'Connell 4/6 fav
2016 DOUVAN Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins (Ire) Mrs Susannah Ricci 1/4 fav
2017 ALTIOR Nico De Boinville Nicky Henderson Mrs Patricia Pugh 1/4 fav
2018 FOOTPAD Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins (Ire) Simon Munir, Isaac Souede 5/6 fav
2019 DUC DE GENIEVRES Paul Townend Willie Mullins (Ire) Sullivan Bloodstock Ltd 5/1
2020 PUT THE KETTLE ON Aidan Coleman Henry De Bromhead (Ire) One for Luck Syndicate 16/1
2021 SHISHKIN Nico De Boinville Nicky Henderson Mrs J Donnelly 4/9 fav
2022 EDWARDSTONE Tom Cannon Alan King Robert Abrey, Ian Thurtle 5/2 fav
2023 EL FABIOLO Paul Townend Willie Mullins (Ire) Simon Munir, Isaac Souede 11/10 fav
2024 GAELIC WARRIOR Paul Townend Willie Mullins (Ire) Mrs Susannah Ricci 2/1 fav