Baring Bingham Novices Hurdle (Aldsworth Hurdle/Sun Alliance/ Ballymore)


The Baring Bingham Novices Hurdle is a Grade 1 contest run over 2 miles 5 furlongs and 10 hurdles and is named after Baring Bingham developers who purchased Prestbury Park in 1898. The inaugural running of the race, open to 4-year-olds and above, was in 1971 when known as the Aldsworth Hurdle, and is run on the Old Course. However, in 1956 a race also known as the Aldsworth Hurdle was contested as a one-off over 2 miles and was won by Nickleby. In 1974 sponsorship by the insurance company, Royal Sun Alliance meant that the race was renamed the Sun Alliance Novices Hurdle until 2006, after which it became the Ballymore Novices Hurdle. In 2010 Neptune Insurance took over sponsorship, but it reverted to Ballymore in 2018.
Early history:-Although a version of the Aldsworth Hurdle was staged on Tuesday 6th March 1956 and won by Nickleby, it was over 2 miles and was not repeated. Therefore, the inaugural running of the Aldsworth Hurdle, which eventually morphed into the Baring Bingham Novices Hurdle, took place on Tuesday 16th March 1971 over 2 and a half miles and was won by Midsprite (7/1) trained by Harry Thomson-Jones and ridden by Macer Gifford, beating Pattered (20/1) and Notification (15/2) by 5 lengths and 2 lengths.
Over the entire history of the race 29% of favourites have been successful, placing the race 10th of the 28 current races.
Over the entire history of the race a level stake bet of £10 on every favourite would have resulted in a £150 loss, placing the race 19th of the current 28 races.
Over the entire history of the race the Irish have been successful 36% of occasions, placing the race 12th of the 28 current races.
Baring Bingham Novices Hurdle (Aldsworth Hurdle/Sun Alliance/ Ballymore) Grade 1 2 miles 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1956 NICKLEBY Bryan Marshall Bryan Marshall Mr John Dunlop 5/1
1971 MIDSPRITE Macer Gifford Harry Thomson Jones Mr O Phipps 7/1
1972 EVEN DAWN Ron Hyett Katie Gaze Mrs E Gaze 40/1
1973 WILLIE WUMPKINS Pat Colville Adrian Maxwell Mrs Jane Pilkington 11/1
1974 BROWN LAD Ron Barry Paddy Osborne (Ire) Mr J Osborne 2/1 fav
1975 DAVY LAD Dessie Hughes Mick O'Toole (Ire) Mrs J McGowan 5/2 fav
1976 PARKHILL Dessie Hughes Mick O'Toole (Ire) Mrs J McGowan 4/1
1977 COUNSEL COTTAGE Sean Tracy Paddy Mullins (Ire) Lady E Byng 6/1
1978 MR KILDARE Tommy Carmody Liam Browne (Ire) Mr O Carty 8/11 fav
1979 VENTURE TO COGNAC Oliver Sherwood Fred Winter Mr N Sherwood 4/1
1980 DRUMLARGAN Tommy Ryan Edward O'Grady (Ire) Mr M Cuddy 5/2 fav
1981 GAYE CHANCE Sam Morshead Fred Rimell Mrs M Curtis 7/1
1982 MISTER DONOVAN Tommy Ryan Edward O'Grady (Ire) Mr John P McManus 9/2
1983 SABIN DU LOIR Graham Bradley Michael Dickinson Mr B A Kilpatrick 16/1
1984 FEALTY Seamus O'Neill Peter Brookshaw Mr Peter Brookshaw 33/1
1985 ASIR Ronnie Beggan Paul Kelleway Prince Yazid Saud 9/1
1986 TEN PLUS Kevin Mooney Fulke Walwyn Mr L Thwaites 5/2 fav
1987 THE WEST AWAKE Simon Sherwood Oliver Sherwood Mrs Christopher Heath 16/1
1988 REBEL SONG Simon Sherwood Oliver Sherwood Mrs Christopher Heath 14/1
1989 SAYFAR'S LAD Mark Perrett Martin Pipe Mr A J Whiting 12/1
1990 REGAL AMBITION Peter Scudamore Martin Pipe Skeltools Ltd 3/1 fav
1991 CRYSTAL SPIRIT Jimmy Frost Ian Balding Mr Paul Mellon 2/1 fav
1992 THETFORD FOREST Richard Dunwoody David Nicholson Saeed Manana 7/1
1993 GAELSTROM Carl Llewellyn Nigel Twiston-Davies Mrs J K Powell 16/1
1994 DANOLI Charlie Swan Tom Foley (Ire) Mr D J O'Neill 7/4 fav
1995 PUTTY ROAD Norman Williamson David Nicholson Lady Harris 7/1
1996 URUBANDE Charlie Swan Aidan O'Brien (Ire) Mr M G St Quinton 8/1
1997 ISTABRAQ Charlie Swan Aidan O'Brien (Ire) Mr John P McManus 6/5 fav
1998 FRENCH HOLLY Andrew Thornton Ferdy Murphy Mr K Flood 2/1 fav
1999 BARTON Lorcan Wyer Tim Easterby Sir Stanley Clarke 2/1 fav
2000 MONSIGNOR Norman Williamson Mark Pitman Mr Malcolm Denmark 5/4 fav

Race was not held due to foot & mouth crisis

2002 GALILEO Jason Maguire Tom George Mrs S Nelson, A Stennett, Terry Warner 12/1
2003 HARDY EUSTACE Kieran Kelly Dessie Hughes (Ire) Mr Laurence Byrne 6/1
2004 FUNDAMENTALIST Carl Llewellyn Nigel Twiston-Davies Gripen 12/1
2005 NO REFUGE Graham Lee Howard Johnson Andrea & Graham Wylie 17/2
2006 NICANOR Paul Carberry Noel Meade (Ire) Mr D P Sharkey 17/2
2007 MASSINI'S MAGUIRE Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs Mr Alan Peterson 20/1
2008 FIVEFORTHREE Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins (Ire) Olde Crowbars Syndicate 7/1
2009 MIKAEL D'HAGUENET Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins (Ire) Mrs Susannah Ricci 5/2 fav
2010 PEDDLERS CROSS Jason Maguire Donald McCain jnr Mr T G Leslie 7/1
2011 FIRST LIEUTENANT Davy Russell Mouse Morris (Ire) Gigginstown House Stud 7/1
2012 SIMONSIG Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson Mr Ronnie A Bartlett 2/1 fav
2013 THE NEW ONE Sam Twiston-Davies Nigel Twiston-Davies Mrs S Such 7/2
2014 FAUGHEEN Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins (Ire) Mrs Susannah Ricci 6/4 fav
2015 WINDSOR PARK Davy Russell Dermot Weld (Ire) Dr R Lambe 9/2
2016 YORKHILL Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins (Ire) Andrea & Graham Wylie 3/1
2017 WILLOUGHBY COURT David Bass Ben Pauling Paul & Clare Rooney 14/1
2018 SAMCRO Jack Kennedy Gordon Elliott (Ire) Gigginstown House Stud 8/11 fav
2019 CITY ISLAND Mark Walsh Martin Brassil (Ire) Mrs Bernadette Mulryan 8/1
2020 ENVOI ALLEN Davy Russell Gordon Elliott (Ire) Cheveley Park Stud 4/7 fav
2021 BOB OLINGER Rachael Blackmore Henry De Bromhead (Ire) Robcour 6/4 fav
2022 SIR GERHARD Paul Townend Willie Mullins (Ire) Cheveley Park Stud 8/11 fav
2023 IMPAIRE ET PASSE Paul Townend Willie Mullins (Ire) Simon Munir & Isaac Souede 5/2
2024 BALLYBURN Paul Townend Willie Mullins (Ire) R A Bartlett & David Manasseh 1/2 fav