Juvenile Hurdle


The Juvenile Novices Handicap Hurdle, a Premier Handicap Hurdle, previously a Grade 3 event, over 2 miles and half a furlong and 8 hurdles, was first part of the Festival programme in 2005 when the meeting was extended to four days. It is named in honour of Fred Winter, legendary jockey and trainer who enjoyed so much success at the Festival, landing 17 winners as a jockey and 28 as a trainer. It enjoys sponsorship, with one of the most recent sponsors being Boodles.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Fred Winter Juvenile Novices Handicap Hurdle took place on 15th March 2005 when won by Donal Patrick O’Gorman's Dabiroun (20/1) trained by Paul Nolan and ridden by Ms Nina Carberry, beating At Your Request (33/1) and Nation State (7/1).
Over the entire history of the race 16% of favourites have been successful, placing the race 23rd of the 28 current races.
Over the entire history of the race a level stake bet of £10 on every favourite would have resulted in a £65 loss, placing the race 10th of the current 28 races.
Over the entire history of the race the Irish have been successful 47% of occasions, placing the race 8th of the 28 current races.
Juvenile Hurdle Premier Hurdle 2 miles 1/2 furlong
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
2005 DABIROUN Nina Carberry Paul Nolan (Ire) Mr Donal Patrick O'Gorman 20/1
2006 SHAMAYOUN Paddy Brennan Charles Egerton Mr Ronald Brimacombe 40/1
2007 GASPARA Andrew Glassonbury David Pipe Mr Martin Pipe 9/2 jt fav
2008 CRACK AWAY JACK Paul Carberry Emma Lavelle gdm Partnership 14/1
2009 SILK AFFAIR Tom O'Brien Mick Quinlan L Mulryan, M C Fahy 11/1
2010 SANCTUAIRE Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls Mr Jared Sullivan 4/1 fav
2011 WHAT A CHARM Paul Townend Arthur Moore (Ire) Mr C Jones 9/1
2012 UNE ARTISTE Jeremiah McGrath Nicky Henderson Mr Simon Munir 40/1
2013 FLAXEN FLARE Davy Condon Gordon Elliott (Ire) Mrs P Sloan 25/1
2014 HAWK HIGH Brian Hughes Tim Easterby Mr Trevor Hemmings 33/1
2015 QUALANDO Nick Schofield Paul Nicholls Mrs Kathy Stuart 25/1
2016 DIEGO DU CHARMIL Sam Twiston-Davies Paul Nicholls Mrs Johnny De La Hey 13/2
2017 FLYING TIGER Richard Johnson Nick Williams Macaroni Beach Society 33/1
2018 VENEER OF CHARM Jack Kennedy Gordon Elliott (Ire) Mr M J Wasylocha 33/1
2019 BAND OF OUTLAWS J J Slevin Joseph O'Brien (Ire) Mr J Carthy 7/2 fav
2020 ARAMAX Mark Walsh Gordon Elliott (Ire) Mr John P McManus 15/2
2021 JEFF KIDDER Sean Flanagan Noel Meade (Ire) Albert Dravins, Eamonn Scanlon 80/1
2022 BRAZIL Mark Walsh Padraig Roche (Ire) Mr John P McManus 10/1
2023 JAZZY MATTY Michael O'Sullivan Gordon Elliott (Ire) Caldwell Construction Ltd 18/1
2024 LARK IN THE MORNIN J J Slevin Joseph Patrick O'Brien Sean & Bernadine Mulryan 9/1