Mildmay of Fleet Handicap Chase


The Mildmay of Fleet Handicap Chase for 5-year-olds and upwards over 2 miles 4 furlongs and 127 yards and 17 fences of the New Course was first staged in April 1951 and is named after the amateur jockey, 2nd Baron Anthony Mildmay who rode 3 winners at various Festivals. It has taken on several names in its long history, most recently the Magners Plate Handicap Chase, but previously the Racing Post Plate, the Freddie Williams Festival Plate as a tribute to the fearless Scottish bookmaker, Paddy Power in 2021, and the Byrne Group. It was a Grade 3 status race before being redefined as a Premier Handicap.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Mildmay of Fleet Handicap Chase took place on Thursday 26th April 1951, resulting in a dead-heat between Canford (100/8) trained by Ivor Anthony and ridden by Glen Kelly, and Slender (7/1) trained by H Ryan Price and ridden by Fred Winter with Martinique (100/8) 2 lengths back in third.
Over the entire history of the race 13% of favourites have been successful, placing the race 25th of the 28 current races.
Over the entire history of the race a level stake bet of £10 on every favourite would have resulted in a £310 loss, placing the race 28th of the current 28 races.
Over the entire history of the race the Irish have been successful 7% of occasions, placing the race 28th of the 28 current races.
Mildmay of Fleet Handicap Chase Premier Handicap 2 miles 5 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1951 CANFORD Glen Kelly Ivor Anthony Mr Ivor Anthony 100/8
SLENDER Fred Winter H Ryan Price Mr H Ryan Price 7/1
1952 PORTARLINGTON Ken Mullins Willie Stephenson Mr W Stephenson 8/1
1953 SY OUI Fred Winter H Ryan Price Mr P Hatvany 100/8
1954 TUDOR LINE George Slack Bobby Renton Mrs E Truelove 11/4
1955 MONT TREMBLANT Dave Dick Fulke Walwyn Miss Dorothy Paget 11/2 fav
1956 PENDAPANTARRI Rene Emery George Beeby Lord Bicester 100/6
1957 MADRAS Johnny Bullock Michael Marsh Mr M L Marsh 100/7
1958 CAESAR'S HELM Fred Winter Bobby Renton Mr H J Joel 9/2
1959 SIRACUSA Jumbo Wilkinson Bobby Renton Mrs E Truelove 9/4 fav
1960 DEVON CUSTOMER Joe Guest Syd Bowler Lady Gunter 100/7
1961 MALTING BARLEY Owen McNally Toby Balding Mr B Turner 5/1
1962 SPRING GREETING Johnny Lehane Verly Newicke Brigadier A Brumell 100/8
1963 MILO Josh Gifford Herbert Blagrave Mr Herbert Blagrave 11/2
1964 TAKE PLENTY Ron Vibert Tim Forster Mr H Sumner 100/9
1965 SNAIGOW Johnny Lehane Verly Bewicke Lord Cadogan 100/6
1966 TIBIDABO Jeff King Arthur Freeman Mrs A Gibson 7/1
1967 FRENCH MARCH Ben Hanbury Tom Hanbury Mrs T Hanbury 25/1
1968 MERRYCOURT Josh Gifford Bobby Renton Mrs L Brotherton 20/1
1969 SPECIFY Bob Davies Denis Rayson Mr F W Rogers 5/1
1970 VERONA FOREST Gerry Scott Neville Crump Lord Cadogan 25/1
1971 HOUND TOR Macer Gifford Guy Harwood Mr J Tilling 14/1
1972 MORCHARABUICE Graham Thorner Tim Forster Mrs R Pole 11/2
1973 VULGAN TOWN Johnny Haine Toby Balding Brig-General W Gilbride 9/2
1974 GARNISHEE David Mould Harry Thomson Jones Mr J Goldsmith 6/1
1975 SUMMERVILLE Andrew Turnell Bob Turnell Mr H J Joel 4/1
1976 BRONCHO II Michael Dickinson Tony Dickinson Mr F Tyldesley 7/2
1977 UNCLE BING John Francome Richard Head Mrs J Mildmay-White 9/2
1978 KING OR COUNTRY Paul Leach David Barons Brook Hire Ltd 7/1
1979 BRAWNY SCOT Ridley Lamb George Fairbairn Mrs M Corrie 10/1
1980 SNOWSHILL SAILOR Andrew Turnell Bob Turnell Snowshill Farms & Stud Ltd 8/1
1981 POLITICAL POP Robert Earnshaw Michael Dickinson Mrs A Starkie 15/8 fav
1982 DOUBLEUAGAIN Frank Berry Andy Geraghty (Ire) Mr P McBennett 11/1
1983 MR PEAPOCK Leslie Bloomfield Trevor Hallett Mrs B Collins 20/1
1984 HALF FREE Richard Linley Fred Winter Sheikh Ali Abu Khamsin 16/1
1985 THE TSAREVICH John White Nicky Henderson Mrs C Henty 5/1 fav
1986 THE TSAREVICH John White Nicky Henderson Mrs C Henty 8/1
1987 GEE-A Gee Armytage Geoff Hubbard Mr Geoff Hubbard 33/1
1988 SMART TAR Carl Llewellyn Mark Wilkinson Mrs E R Courage 11/1
1989 PADDYBORO Richard Rowe Josh Gifford Capt F Tyrwhitt-Drake 9/2
1990 NEW HALEN Eamon Tierney Paul James Mrs S Siviter 66/1
1991 FOYLE FISHERMAN Eamon Murphy Josh Gifford Mr J N Hutchinson 33/1
1992 ELFAST Martin Lynch John Webber Mrs John Webber 10/1
1993 SACRE D'OR Graham McCourt Nigel Tinkler Mrs D Wright 7/1
1994 ELFAST Graham McCourt John Webber Mrs John Webber 8/1
1995 KADI Norman Williamson David Nicholson Mr J E Brown 11/2
1996 OLD BRIDGE Gary Crone Andrew Turnell Mr K C B Mackenzie 14/1
1997 TERAO Timmy Murphy Martin Pipe Mr B A Kilpatrick 20/1
1998 SUPER COIN Norman Williamson Richard Lee Mr George Brookes 7/1
1999 MAJADOU Tony McCoy Martin Pipe C M, B J & R F Batterham 7/4 fav
2000 DARK STRANGER Richard Johnson Martin Pipe Mr Terry Neill 14/1

Race was not held due to foot & mouth crisis

2002 BLOWING WIND Ruby Walsh Martin Pipe Mr P A Deal 25/1
2003 YOUNG SPARTACUS Richard Johnson Henry Daly Mr B G Hellyer 16/1
2004 TIKRAM Timmy Murphy Gary L Moore Mike Charlton & Rodger Sargent 12/1
2005 LIBERTHINE Sam Waley-Cohen Nicky Henderson Mr Robert Waley-Cohen 25/1
2006 NON SO Mick Fitzgerald Nicky Henderson ROA Dawn Run Partnership 14/1
2007 IDOLE FIRST Alan O'Keeffe Venetia Williams D & J Racing Ltd 12/1
2008 MISTER McGOLDRICK Dominic Elsworth Sue Smith Mr Richard Langley 66/1
2009 SOMETHING WELLS Will Biddick Venetia Williams Favourites Racing XVIII 33/1
2010 GREAT ENDEAVOUR Danny Cook David Pipe The Johnson Family 18/1
2011 HOLMWOOD LEGEND Keiran Burke Patrick Rodford Mr Brian Derrick 25/1
2012 SALUT FLO Tom Scudamore David Pipe Mr Allan Stennett 9/2 fav
2013 CARRICKBOY Liam Treadwell Venetia Williams Mr Trevor Hemmings 50/1
2014 BALLYNAGOUR Tom Scudamore David Pipe Mr Allan Stennett 12/1
2015 DARNA David Bass Kim Bailey David & Mrs Julie Martin 33/1
2016 EMPIRE OF DIRT Bryan Cooper Colm Murray (Ire) Gigginstown HouseStud 16/1
2017 ROAD TO RESPECT Bryan Cooper Noel Meade (Ire) Gigginstown House Stud 14/1
2018 THE STORYTELLER Davy Russell Gordon Elliott (Ire) Mrs P Sloan 5/1 fav
2019 SIRUH DU LAC Lizzie Kelly Nick Williams John White & Anne Underhill 9/2
2020 SIMPLY THE BETTS Gavin Sheehan Harry Whittington Kate & Andrew Brooks 100/30 fav
2021 THE SHUNTER Jordan Gainford Emmet Mullins (Ire) Mr Paul Byrne 9/4 fav
2022 COOLE CODY Adam Wedge Evan Williams Mr Wayne Clifford 22/1
2023 SEDDON Ben Harvey John O'Connell Galaxy Horse Racing Syndicate 20/1
2024 SHAKEM UP'ARRY Ben Jones Ben Pauling Mr Harry Redknapp 8/1