Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Thursday 31st March 1859
Final meeting: Wednesday 31st March 1869
The Cheshire Hunt was founded in 1763 and for almost 100 years confined its activities to foxhunting. However, in 1859 it diversified by organising race meetings, the first of which took place on Thursday 31st March 1859. The principal race each year was the Gentlemen’s Steeplechase and the meeting visited a range of different courses, although Tarporley was used most often. The meetings on 31st March 1866 and 31st March 1868 were both held at Tarporley, but the final meeting under rules was held at a course on Fearnall Heath. This final meeting, Stewarded by Right Honourable Viscount Combermere, took place on Wednesday 31st March 1869 and featured the Gentlemen’s Steeplechase which was won by Countess owned by Mr W Court. Once the National Hunt Committee changed the rules in 1870 regarding enclosed meetings, the Cheshire Hunt staged successful point to point meetings which continued well into the 20th century, predominantly using a course at Darnhall near Winsford.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Right Honourable Viscount Combermere, Lord Richard Grosvenor
Principal Races Gentlemen’s Steeplechase, Welter Stakes, Silver Cup

Wednesday 31st March 1869
R. Corbet Silver Cup
1. Champagne, aged horse owned by Mr T Holland
2. Lady, 7 year old owned by Mr P Marrow
3. Magic, 4 year old owned by Mr W Hesketh
Betting: 6/4 Champagne, 2/1 Amiable, 4/1 Lady Peel. 6/1 Lady

The final meeting took place on Wednesday 31st March 1869.

Course today Alternating between Tarporley Racecourse and Fearnall Heath.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to