Royal Ascot: Commonwealth Cup

The Commonwealth Cup is a Group 1 flat race, over 6 furlongs, open to colts and fillies aged three, and was introduced in 2015 as part of a set of changes to the programme of sprint horse races in Europe. The Diamond Jubilee Stakes, run over the same course and distance at the same meeting, was closed to three-year-olds at the same time. The new race was subsequently named the Commonwealth Cup, and the Buckingham Palace Stakes was removed from the Royal Ascot meeting to make room for the new race. The race was initially open to all three year-old-horses, including geldings, to help the race become established. It was the only Group 1 flat race in Great Britain exclusively for three-year-olds that allowed geldings to compete and the first age-restricted Group 1 race which was open to geldings in Europe. Geldings were excluded from the 2020 running.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Commonwealth Cup took place on Friday 19th June 2015 when won by the Hamdan Al Maktoum owned Muhaarar (10/1) who defeated Limato (9/2), Anthem Alexander (8/1) and 15 others by 3 3/4 lengths and 3/4 length.

Over the entire history of the race 33% of favourites have been successful. (18th out of 32 Royal Ascot races)

Over the entire history of the race a level stakes bet on every favourite would have resulted in a 23.7% loss. (28th out of 32 races)

Commonwealth Cup Group 1 6 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
2015 MUHAARAR Dane O'Neill Charlie Hills Hamdan Al Maktoum 10/1
2016 QUIET REFLECTION Dougie Costello Karl Burke Ontoawinner, Strecker, Burke 7/4 fav
2017 CARAVAGGIO Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien Magnier/Tabor/Smith 5/6 fav
2018 EQTIDAAR Jim Crowley Sir Michael Stoute Hamdan Al Maktoum 12/1
2019 ADVERTISE Frankie Dettori Martyn Meade Phoenix Thoroughbred Ltd 8/1
2020 GOLDEN HORDE Adam Kirby Clive Cox AIMohamediya Racing 5/1
2021 CAMPANELLE Frankie Dettori Wesley Ward Stonestreet Stables 5/1
2022 PERFECT POWER Christophe Soumillon Richard Fahey Sheikh Rashid Dalmook 7/2 jt fav