Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Monday 9th August 1841
Final meeting: Thursday 20th September 1900
The South Devon coastal town of Dawlish today boasts a population in excess of 12000, but in the early 18th Century it was just a small fishing port. It later developed into a popular seaside resort and first held races on Monday 9th August 1841 when they were billed as Mount Pleasant Races. The next year a two day meeting was held on Thursday 22nd and Friday 23rd September 1842 on the Seckmaton Estate, near Wick, just a mile from Dawlish. The opening Ladies Purse saw Gay Lass beat Lady Ellen and Black Jack, and the same horse won the Tally Ho Stakes on the second day. Meetings continued to be held annually, although some cards mixed thoroughbred racing with pony racing and Galloways. On Thursday 20th September 1894 the steeplechase meeting was held in fields owned by Mr J Bowerman and Mr J Cole when the Dawlish Plate saw Squireen defeat Jenny Llad and Kaiser, while the Open Steeplechase was won by Parr for Mr Lamacraft. The final meeting under rules was staged on Thursday 20th September 1900 and despite only 33 horses entered for the entire meeting, a competitive card ensued.  After the War had ended a revival meeting took place on Thursday 30th September 1920, although the card included pony racing.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 2 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.

Local Patrons

Walter Bulteel

Principal Races Dawlish Open Handicap Steeplechase, Stewards Steeplechase, South Devon Hurdle

Thursday 20th September 1894
Dawlish Open Steeplechase over 2 ½ miles
1. Parr, aged horse owned by Mr Lamacraft
2. Tavistock Lass, aged mare owned by Mr Hannaford
3. Old Fashioned, aged horse owned by Mr Killand

The final meeting took place on Thursday 20th September 1900.
Course today

Initially on the Seckmaton Estate, and then steeplechase meetings in fields owned by Messrs Cole and Bowerman.

If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com