This was run in 1932 and the winner was bred by Mr Sidney McGregor and Mr Graeme Whitelaw and trained by Tom Walls at Epsom. There were 21 runners from an initial entry of 342. The winner won by 3/4 length in 2 mins 43.2 secs, with a short head between second and third. The winner won a first prize of £9,730 5s, (The equivalent of £645,700 in today's terms based on Bank of England inflation calculator).


GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

GN1911.JPG (7976 bytes)

GN1914.JPG (11652 bytes)

The British Pathe website and bank of film clips provide excellent coverage of the Epsom Derby. The link below is a 6 minute 9 second clip of the Derby.


Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 APRIL THE FIFTH Fred Lane Tom Walls
2 DASTUR Michael Beary HH Aga Khan
3 MIRACLE Harry Wragg Lord Rosebery
4 ROYAL DANCER S.Wragg Mr E.Esmond
Also FIRDAUSSI S.Donoghue HH Aga Khan
Also CELEBRATOR T.Burns Mr R.S.Croker
Also CORCY E.M.Quirke Mr R.S.Croker
Also PORTOFINO W.Nevett Mr J.G.Thompson
Also ORWELL R.A.Jones Mr W.M.G.Singer
Also SPENSER R.Dick Mr S.Tattersall
Also BUCKLE T.Weston Mr P.Haldin
Also HESPERUS E.C.Elliott Monsieur M.Boussac
Also WYVERN H.Jelliss Sir L.Philipps
Also JACKDAW THE SECOND J.Childs Prince Aly Khan
Also BACCHUS J.Marshall Mr C.C.Hall
Also TOTAIG B.Carslake Mr V.Emmanuel
Also ANDREA F.Fox Duke of Marlborough
Also COCKPEN G.Richards Lord Woolavington
Also JIWEH J.Canty Mr W.Littauer
Also SUMMER PLANET F.Rickaby Mr C.Gulliver
Also PETER PLANET F.Herbert Mrs C.Gulliver

Tote (10p unit) Win £2.40p Places 40p 35p 28p

5/4 Orwell
9/1 Cockpen
100/9 Miracle
100/8 Hesperus
100/6 April The Fifth
18/1 Dastur
20/1 Portofino
22/1 Firdaussi
33/1 Royal Dancer
33/1 Wyvern
40/1 Andrea
50/1 Jiweh
50/1 Spenser
66/1 Celebrator
100/1 Peter Planet
100/1 Summer Planet
100/1 Totaig
100/1 Bacchus
100/1 Jackdaw The Second
100/1 Buckle
100/1 Corcy
  Over-Round 113%
For all of your Epsom Derby books and memorabilia visit:-