This was run on Saturday 10th June 1995 and the winner was bred by Gainsborough Farm Incorporated and trained by Saeed Bin Suroor. There were 15 runners and the winner won by a length with 3/4 of a length between second and third. The winner was owned by Saeed Maktoum Al Maktoum, the second by Sheikh Mohammed and the third by George Strawbridge. The winning time was 2 mins 32.31 secs and the first prize was £504,500, (The equivalent of £922,000 in today's terms based on Bank of England inflation calculator).


GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

GN1911.JPG (7976 bytes)

GN1914.JPG (11652 bytes)

The Youtube website and bank of film clips provide excellent coverage of the Epsom Derby. The link below is a 2 minute 39 second clip of the Derby.


Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer
1 LAMMTARRA Walter Swinburn Saeed bin Suroor
2 TAMURE Frankie Dettori John Gosden
3 PRESENTIN Cash Asmussen John Gosden
4 FAHAL Richard Hills David Morley
5 COURT OF HONOUR Brent Thompson Peter Chapple-Hyam
6 VETTORI Ray Cochrane Saeed bin Suroor
7 RIYADIAN T.Quinn Paul Cole
8 HUMBEL Mick Kinane Dermot Weld
9 MUNWAR Willie Carson Peter Walwyn
10 SALMON LADDER Kevin Darley Paul Cole
11 PENNEKAMP Thierry Jarnet Andre Fabre
12 KORAMBI Michael Roberts Cilve Brittain
13 SPECTRUM John Reid Peter Chapple-Hyam
14 DAFFAQ Brian Rouse Peter Walwyn


Micky Fenton Michael Bell
11/8 Pennekamp
5/1 Spectrum
8/1 Munwar
9/1 Tamure
12/1 Presenting
14/1 Lammtarra
16/1 Riyadian
20/1 Vettori
25/1 Humbel
50/1 Fahal
50/1 Salmon Ladder
66/1 Court of Honour
150/1 Korambi
200/1 Maralinga
500/1 Daffaq
  Over-Round 116%