SP Dallison.JPG (24606 bytes) EDINBURGH MONARCHS

This site is not an official website for the track shown here and is neither approved or endorsed by the speedway team.

SP D Case.JPG (24416 bytes)
Speedway racing has taken place at 7 venues spread throughout Edinburgh since the first in 1928. At that first meeting, held on 19th May on a dirt track at Marine Gardens in the Portobello area of the city, a crowd in excess of 8000 were present. Unusually, two of the people present operated as bookmakers. One year later, on the 11th May 1929 one of the riders, Walter Brown, sustained and died from injuries he suffered in a consolation heat.

The team enjoyed extended periods in the British League Division 2 from 1948 to 54 and the British League in 1965 until 1967.

View an early programme

SP Key.JPG (26705 bytes) SP Milne.JPG (23608 bytes)
Ed1930.JPG (24195 bytes) Joining the Powderhall Stadium in 1977 the team enjoyed a period of 13 years in the National League and, by 1995, were in the Premier League. Ed1948.JPG (14293 bytes)
SP Chitty.JPG (21859 bytes) Greyhound racing has taken place at the Powderhall track,in Beaverhill Road, since 1927. It has hosted the Scottish Grand National run in April over 465 metres hurdles, and the Edinburgh Cup run over 500 yards  in the early days and, more recently, over 465 metres. This Cup was first competed for in 1933 and a number of Greyhound Derby winners have been successful in the event, including the great Pigalle Wonder twice in 1958 and 1959.

View an early Liam Devlin trade card of DICK CAMPBELL

SP Pymar.JPG (26265 bytes)
Ed1963.JPG (18130 bytes) Throughout their time the team has been known as the Thistles in its early days, and more recently the Monarchs. Ed1977.JPG (18112 bytes)
SP Sharp.JPG (26500 bytes) This section gives a comprehensive picture of the badges produced for the team throughout the ages, but only provides the briefest of glimpses of its history. For those wishing to undertake further research we can recommend a visit to www.edinburghspeedway.com

and for those wishing to read more widely we recommend a visit to

http://astore.amazon.co.uk/wwwgreyhoundd-21   especially

Speedway in Scotland (Paperback) ISBN-10: 0752422294

by Jim Henry & Ian Moultray

SP Kilmister.JPG (22032 bytes)
Ed1984.JPG (20234 bytes) To view a complete collection of badges choose the relevant link below:

1930-81    1982-2000

Ed1986.JPG (20977 bytes)

The Edinburgh Monarchs currently (2019) contest the SGB Championship. Recent successes include the Premier League title in 2003, 2008, 2010, 2014 and 2015, the Premier League Trophy in 2008, and the Premier League Fours in 2013 and 2015.

More detailed information is available from "Homes of British Speedway' by Robert Bamford & John Jarvis

A further great source of information is provided on John Skinner's excellent website on Defunct Speedway tracks, with a link given below.

For all Speedway enthusiasts, John Somerville's website should always be your first port of call:-https://www.skidmarks1928.com/v/photos/john-somerville-collection
or email johnwslusar@gmail.com for inclusion of your comments and photos of speedway on this website.

1928 1929 1930
1938 1939 1948
1959 1960