Richard Gauthier Collection

Emirates Racing Authority

The Emirates Racing Authority governs horse racing in the United Arab Emirates. Its governing Board consists of 5 members, the Charman HH Sheikh Mansoor bib Zayed Al Nahyan and the Vice Chairman Saeed Humaid Al-Tayer. The 3 other Members are Malih Al Basti, Mohammed Ahmed bin Abdulaziz Al Shehhi and Matar Al Yabhouni. The ERA oversees racing at a number of racecourses, including Meydan, Abu Dhabi, Jebel Ali, Sharjah and Al Ain.

Associated sections of the collection:-
Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club/Arab Horse Club
Dubai Racing Club
Dubai World Cup

Situated in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates, the Meydan Racecourse was developed on a site adjacent to Nad Al Sheba racecourse and replaced it at the very end of 2009. The course was the brainchild of Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Makhtoum and was ready to open its gates on Thursday 28th January 2010, although its first meeting was held on 27th March 2010. It is an impressive development covering 76 million square feet and has the capacity to seat over 65,000 racegoers. It boasts an impressive one mile long grandstand which is the most spectacular in the world. The course was completed in 2009 and was ready to host the 2010 Dubai World Cup in March 2010. The final World Cup at Nad Al Sheba was won impressively by the 10/1 Well Armed ridden by Aaron Greyder and trained by Eoin Harty. The Dubai World Cup is contested over 10 furlongs and is billed as 'The World's Richest Race'. On the closure of Nad Al Sheba the course began to host the World Cup. In 2010 it was won by the French trained Gloria de Campeao ridden by T.J.Pereira and trained by Pascal Bary. To show the universal nature and appeal of the race, in 2011 the Japanese trained, owned and ridden Victoire Pisa was successful in the hands of Mirco Demuro and trained by Katsuhiko Sumi.

Abu Dhabi
The Abu Dhabi racecourse is based in Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates and holds thoroughbred flat race meetings from late October until early April. The principal race is the HH Presidents Cup, with other feature equestrian events being the National Day Cup and the Championship Cup. The course first opened its gates to thoroughbred racing in 1991, although as early as 1980 the grass race track was laid and, prior to this date, in 1976 the land was used as a riding club. Its founder was His Highness Sheik Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan and under his guidance the track has continued to develop significantly, with floodlights, a new grandstand sufficiently large enough to seat 5000 people, and a new fibre-turf course. The main course is a 10 furlong grass track with a 2.5 furlong run in. The fibresand course is on the inside of the turf track. The 2011 running of the Presidents Cup was on 18th December and was won by the James Doyle ridden Jaasoos, trained by D.Salvaratnam. The horse later went on to finish second in the 2012 National Day Cup.

Jebel Ali
The Jebel Ali racecourse is situated a few miles from the city of Dubai and was built in 1990. It was the brainchild of His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Rashid Al Maktoum and is a course with a circumference of 2200 metres designed in inspired fashion in the shape of a horseshoe.  The course has a 900 metre run-in and a separate 1400 metre straight course for sprint races. It boasts a seating capacity of 2000 in its impressive grandstand, with further tiers to the grandstand being added in 1995. The Racecourse has a friendly atmosphere and is widely known as 'The Garden Party' Racecourse.

The Sharjah racecourse is situated about 10 miles away from the city of Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates. It was constructed in 1982 and has a track circumference of 1500 metres including a straight of 1200 metres. Its chairman is His Excellency Sheikh Abdulla bin Majid Al Qassimi. Although racing first took place in 1983, in 1995 a major refurbishment programme was initiated and now boasts a grandstand that can seat upwards of 1500 people. At the same time the track has also been re-structured.