This was run on the 21st March 1917 at Gatwick with the going heavy and with rainy weather.The winner carried 9 st 12 lbs and won in 10 minutes 12 2/5 secs.


Also called The War National Steeplechase

GN1915.JPG (7863 bytes)

GN1919.JPG (8821 bytes)

GNwar.JPG (7744 bytes)

GN1920.JPG (8032 bytes)

GN1921.JPG (11916 bytes)

Aintree 1913.JPG (46560 bytes)

Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 BALLYMACAD E Driscoll Sir G Bullough
2 CHANG W Smith Mr H Trimmer
3 ALLY SLOPER I Anthony Lady Nelson
4 VERMOUTH J Reardon Mr P F Heybourn
also FATHER CONFESSOR A Aylin Lord Suffolk
also QUEEN IMAAL A Newey Colonel R L Birkin
also YELLOW CHAT G Parfrement Lord Lonsdale
also BLOW PIPE E Lancaster Mr G H Jones
also TEMPLEDOWNEY T Hulme Major D Dixon
also IRISH MAIL E Piggot Mr E Platt
also CARRIG PARK C Hawkins Mr Douglas Stuart
also LIMEROCK W J Smith Mr E W Paterson
also HACKLER'S BEY Captain D Rogers Sir T Dewar
also KENIA A Saxby Mr R B Thorburn
also THOWL PIN C Kelly Mr F Bibby
also CHARLBURY J Dillon Mr H Trimmer
also DENIS AUBURN R Burford Sir G Bullough
also FARGUE Mr H A Brown Mr P S Adams
also GRITHORPE H Smyth Mr E S Wills
7/2 Carig Park
11/2 Chang
100/12 Yellow Chat
100/12 Vermouth
100/9 Ballymacad
100/7 Limerock
20/1 Ally Sloper
25/1 Templedowney
25/1 Fargue
25/1 Queen Imaal
25/1 Irish Mail
33/1 Kenia
For all your Grand National books use the link below:-