This was run on the 21st March 1918 at Gatwick with the going good and with clear weather.The winner carried 11 st 6 lbs and won in 9 minutes 50 2/5 secs.


GN1915.JPG (7863 bytes)

GN1919.JPG (8821 bytes)

GNwar.JPG (7744 bytes)

GN1920.JPG (8032 bytes)

GN1921.JPG (11916 bytes)

Gatwick 1918.JPG (25352 bytes)Gatwick 1918 ladies.JPG (29310 bytes)

Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 POETHLYN E Piggot Mrs Hugh Peel
3 BALLYMACAD I Anthony Sir G Bullough
4 BERNERAY S Avila Mr Barclay Walker
also TOP HOLE C Hawkins Mr F W Parnell
also CLEAR MONEY Mr Pepper Colonel H P Burnyeat
also SHAUN SPADAH A Stubbs Mr T M McAlpine
also QUEEN IMAAL A Newey Mr H Denison
also SERGEANT MURPHY S Walkington Mr Douglas Stuart
also MARK BACK H Smyth Mr E S Wills
also CHANG Mr O J Casebourne Mr F S Watts
also SIMON THE LEPPER R Burford Sir G Bullough
also AWBEG L Jones Mr Horatio Bottomley
also CHARLBURY J Dillon Mr H Trimmer
also ALLY SLOPER J Walsh Lady Nelson
also WAVERTREE E Driscoll Captain Brian Bibby
also VERMOUTH Mr J R Anthony Mr P F Heybourn
5/1 Poethlyn
5/1 Wavertree
5/1 Ally Sloper
7/1 Ballymacad
10/1 Shaun Spadah
100/8 Vermouth
100/8 Chang
100/7 Berneray
20/1 Captain Dreyfus
33/1 Charlbury
40/1 Mark Back
40/1 Sergeant Murphy
50/1 Simon The Lepper
50/1 Top Hole
50/1 Queen Imaal
100/1 Awbeg
100/1 Clear Money
For all your Grand National books use the link below:-