This was run on the 22nd March 1929 with the going average and weather sunny.The winning time was 9 minutes 47 secs..   The 66 runners were the biggest field ever.


GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

GN1911.JPG (7976 bytes)

GN1914.JPG (11652 bytes)

Liverpool 1929z2.JPG (6783 bytes)Liverpool 1929z1.JPG (13753 bytes)Aintree 1929c.JPG (11638 bytes)

The British Pathe website and bank of film clips provide excellent coverage of the Grand National. The link below is a 10 minute 38 seconds clip of the Grand National.

Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 GREGALACH R.Everett Mrs M A Gemmell
2 EASTER HERO J Moloney Mr J H Whitney
3 RICHMOND II W Stott Mr R McAlpine
4 MELLERAY'S BELLE J Mason Mr William Wilson
also MAY KING F Gurney Mrs H Mond
also GRAKLE J Hamey Mr C R Taylor
also D D B Mr R Gubbins Maj A W Huntington
also DELARUE G Wilson Mr J B Snow
also KILBAIRN Mr L Parry Mr R A Parry
also CAMPERDOWN Mr K Goode Mrs E Hutchinson
also SPRIG A Escott Mrs M Partridge
also BRIGHT'S BOY E Foster Mr S Sandford
also KOKO S Duffy Capt. the Hon F E Guest
also GREAT SPAN W Payne Mr W B Duckworth
also TRUMP CARD T Morgan Mr G Newell Nairn
also MOUNT ETNA T Leader Mr S Sandford
also BILLY BARTON T Cullinan Mr Howard Bruce
also LLOYDEE F B Rees Capt R F H Norman
also THE ACE II Mr G Evans Mr R B Strassburger
also ARDEEN R Lyall Sir Keith Fraser
also CARFAX Mr B Ancil Mr B W Ancil
also BALLYSTOCKART Captain R E Sassoon Captain R E Sassoon
also STORT T Chisman Mr R Wright
also LORDI Captain Weber Mr A M Jones
also MASTER BILLIE Mr Rayson Mr B Parsonage
also LE TOUQUET T Teasdale M G Watinne
also SKRUN PRINCE W Gurney Colonel P D Stewart
also OVERDRAFT Mr R Bennet Mrs R D Cohen
also RAMPANT Major Misa Colonel W S Anthony
also TIPPERARY TIM Mr W Dutton Mr H S Kenyon
also DARRACQ Mr G S Poole Mr A C Schwartz
also K.C.B. J Hogan Mr V H Smith
also ARDOON'S PRIDE R Thrale Captain T H Bird
also SANDY HOOK F Fish Mr J H Hull
also HERBERT'S CHOICE J Farrell Mr J Graeme Thomson
also DWARF OF THE FOREST Mr H Kennard Mr H Kennard
also DRINMOND Mr J B Balding Mr J B Balding
also UNCLE BEN P Powell Mr H B Brandt
also BEECHMARTIN L B Rees Mr David Faber
also RUDDYMAN W Parvin Mr H Gordon Selfridge
also HAWKER Captain A E Grant Captain A E Grant
also GAY DOG II A Birch Sir Lindsay Parkinson
also DENBURGH G Hardy Mr F Usher
also SULTAN OF WICKEN T James Lady Penrhyn
also KILBRAIN V Piggott Mr E A Longworth
also BALLYHANWOOD J Goswell Mr M D Blair
also SOLDIER'S JOY Captain Gossage Mr S G R Barrat
also IRINA J Kelly Mr A Heathorn
also DUKE OF FLORENCE G Turner Mrs Darby Rogers
also HAREWOOD D Williams Mr M L Meyer
also MABESTOWN'S PRIDE Mr D R Daly Brigadier General C Winser
also RATHORY R Burford Major H Lyons
also CLORINGO A Wall Mr C J Paterson
also MERRIVALE II F Brookes Lord Westmoreland
also MISS BALSCADDEN G Bowden Sir David Llewellyn
also ODD CAT J Sinnot Mr J B D'Ardenne
also BEST HOME Mr G Elliott Mr G Elliott
also BIG WONDER J Bisggod Mr G S L Whitelaw
also FLEET PRINCE Mr F R Thackray Mr G S L Whitelaw
also KWANGO A Waudby Major R Fenwick-Palmer
also MORE DIN A Harroway Mr H S Horne
also STAGE MANAGEMENT M Doherty Major C W M Norrie
also THEOREM T Costello Mr H M Llewellyn
also TOY BELL D Morgan Mrs R D Cohen
also WILD EDGAR S Regan Mrs E A Ryan

9/2 Easter Hero
100/6 Great Span
18/1 Grakle
20/1 Billy Barton
20/1 Master Billie
22/1 Skrun Prince
22/1 Lloydie
25/1 Bright's Boy
25/1 Ardeen
28/1 Mount Etna
28/1 Lordi
33/1 Trump Card
40/1 Darracq
40/1 Knight of the Wilderness
40/1 Carfax
40/1 Uncle Ben
40/1 Richmond II
40/1 Harewood
50/1 Beechmartin
50/1 Sprig
50/1 K.C.B.
50/1 Drinmond
50/1 Ruddyman
50/1 Duke of Florence
50/1 Merrivale II
50/1 Big Wonder
66/1 Koko
66/1 The Ace II
66/1 May King
66/1 Ballystockart
66/1 Overdraft
66/1 D.D.B.
100/1 Rampant
100/1 Tipperary Tim
100/1 Sandy Hook
100/1 Ballyhanwood
100/1 Kilbrain
100/1 Stage Management
100/1 Toy Bell
100/1 Gregalach
200/1 Bar
For all your Grand National books use the link below:-