This was run on Saturday 24th March 1956 and 29 ran. The winning time was 9 minutes 21 secs. 


GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

GN1911.JPG (7976 bytes)

GN1914.JPG (11652 bytes)

The British Pathe website and bank of film clips provide excellent coverage of the Grand National. The link below is a 7 minute 6 seconds clip of the Grand National.

Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 E.S.B. D.V.Dick Mrs Leonard Carver
2 GENTLE MOYA G.Milburn Mr J J Straker
3 ROYAL TAN T.Taaffe Prince Aly Khan
4 EAGLE LODGE A.Oughton Mr N A Mardon


B.Marshall Mr John Dunlop
Also MARINER'S LOG R.Emery Lord Bicester
Also DEVON LOCH R.Francis Queen Elizabeth
Also SUNDEW F.Winter Mrs Geoffrey Kohn
Also HIGH GUARD A.P.Thompson Mr J A Keith
Also MUCH OBLIGED M Scudamore Mr H Draper
Also DUNBOY II Mr R Brewis Mrs M Bruce
Also CAREY'S COTTAGE R.Turnell Colonel W H Whitbread
Also ARMORIAL III J.Dowdeswell Mme K.Hennessey
Also MERRY WINDSOR L.McMorrow Mr I Holliday
Also MUST R.Morrow Mrs W L Pilkington
Also KEY ROYAL T.Molony Mr A H Birtwistle
Also M'AS-TU-VU A.Freeman Queen Elizabeth
Also REVEREND PRINCE Mr C Pocock Mr P Dufosee
Also WITTY P.A.Farrell Mr Clifford Nicholson
Also DOMATA D.Ancil Mr E Stanning
Also POLONIUS E F Kelly Mrs D Hailstone
Also ATHENIAN R.J.Hamey Colonel W H Whitbread
Also NO RESPONSE C.Finnegan Sir Thomas Ainsworth
Also CLEARING J.A.Bullock Mr M Kingsley
Also ONTRAY R Curran Captain Scott Briggs
Also WILD WISDOM Mr L Bridge Mr E Foster
Also BORDER LUCK M O'Dwyer Mr J R Bower
Also PIPPYKIN J.Power Mr R D Darragh
Also MARTINIQUE S.Mellor Mr A Greenberg

George Milburn giving his version of the mystery of Devon Loch in the 1956 Grand National. This is the title of a chapter from Chris Pitt’s book ‘Go Down to the Beaten’, which looks at personal stories by connections of horses which failed to win the Grand National, a copy of which can be purchased by clicking the link below:-