Glorious (Alycidon) Stakes

The Glorious Stakes, founded initially as the Alycidon Stakes to mark the victory of the 1949 Goodwood Cup winner, was first staged in 1979 as a conditions race over 12 furlongs for 3-year-olds and upwards. By 1985 it had been elevated to Listed status, and in 1987 the race had evolved into the Alycidon Glorious Stakes. In 1989 the reference to Alycidon was dropped and it became the Glorious Stakes, the name by which it is known today. In 1993 it was run as a Handicap for 4-year-olds and above, but went back to being a conditions race in 2004. From 2008 onwards it reached Group 3 status and is now traditionally held on the penultimate day of the Festival.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Alycidon Stakes was on Friday 3rd August 1979 when Mr W McDonald’s Bohemian Grove defeated Vital Season and Crystal Queen.

Favourites have a 39.5% success rate. A £10 level stakes bet on each favourite provided a £58 Profit.
Glorious (Alycidon) Stakes Conditions 1 mile 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1979 BOHEMIAN GROVE Tony Murray A Maxwell 3-8st 2lbs Mr W Mcdonald 4/6 fav
1980 WATER MILL Willie Carson W Hern 3-8st 2lbs Lord Rotherwick 11/10 fav
1981 CAPSTAN Willie Carson W Hern 3-7st 11lbs Mr R Hollingsworth 5/4
1982 CAPSTAN Willie Carson W Hern 4-9st 1lbs Mr R Hollingsworth 4/7 fav
1983 SEYMOUR HICKS Willie Carson John Dunlop 3-8st 5lbs Mr P Brant 7/4 fav
1984 LONGBOAT Brian Rouse W Hern 3-8st 2lbs Mr R Hollingsworth 10/1
1985 SHERNAZAR Walter Swinburn Michael Stoute 4-9st 1lbs HH Aga Khan 10/1
1986 NISNAS Richard Quinn Paul Cole 3-8st 2lbs Prince Fahd Salman Evens fav
1987 KNOCKANDO Ray Cochrane Luca Cumani 3-8st 5lbs Dr M Boffa 4/1
1988 MAKSUD Michael Roberts Robert Armstrong 3-8st 2lbs Hamdan Al Maktoum 6/1
1989 KNOOSH Pat Eddery Sir Michael Stoute 3-8st 5lbs Maktoum Al Maktoum 6/4 fav
1990 HAJADE Frankie Dettori Luca Cumani 3-8st 6lbs Sir Gordon White 6/4
1991 FLY AWAY SOON Richard Quinn Paul Cole 3-8st 3lbs Mr J S Gutkin 8/1
1992 SPINNING Ray Cochrane Ian Balding 5-9st 2lbs Mr Paul Mellon 7/2
1993 USAIDIT John Reid Terry Mills 4-8st 7lbs Mrs Pauline Merrick 7/1
1994 DUKE OF EUROLINK Pat Eddery John Dunlop 5-8st 8lbs Eurolink Group Plc 7/2
1995 MIDNIGHT LEGEND Frankie Dettori Luca Cumani 4-9st 7lbs Umm Qarn Racing 7/2
1996 SALMON LADDER Richard Quinn Paul Cole 4-9st 5lbs Sir Martyn Arbib 7/2 fav
1997 BAHAMIAN SUNSHINE Jason Weaver Reg Akehurst 6-8st 7lbs Lucayan Stud 20/1
1998 SABADILLA Frankie Dettori John Gosden 4-9st 7lbs Sheikh Mohammed 7/2
1999 DANISH RHAPSODY Gary Stevens Lady Herries 6-9st 7lbs Chris Hardy et al 9/1
2000 MURGHEM Darryll Holland Mark Johnston 5-9st 7lbs A Al-Rostamani 5/2 fav
2001 COMPTON BOLTER Kevin Darley Gerard Butler 4-9st 7lbs Erik Penser 12/1
2002 DARASIM Kevin Darley Mark Johnston 4-9st 0lbs Markus Graff 5/2 fav
2003 RESEARCHED Keiren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute 4-9st 1lbs Ballymacoll Stud 8/1
2004 ALKAASED Jimmy Fortune Luca Cumani 4-8st 12lbs Mr M R Charlton 11/4 fav
2005 MAMOOL Kerrin McEvoy Saeed Bin Suroor 6-9st 4lbs Godolphin 9/4 fav
2006 CROSSPEACE Royston Ffrench Mark Johnston 4-9st 4lbs Favourites Racing 100/30
2007 PURPLE MOON Jamie Spencer Luca Cumani 4-9st 1lbs Mr Craig Bennett 11/2
2008 SIXTIES ICON Jamie Spencer Jeremy Noseda 5-9st 0lbs Norman Court Stud 100/30 fav
2009 ILLUSTRIOUS BLUE Jim Crowley William Knight 6-9st 0lbs Mr & Mrs I Bendelow 9/1
2010 REDWOOD Michael Hills Barry Hills 4-9st 0lbs Prince Khaled Abdullah 7/1
2011 DRUNKEN SAILOR Kieren Fallon Luca Cumani 6-9st 0lbs Samanda Racing, Tony Bloom 9/2
2012 QUEST FOR PEACE Kieren Fallon Luca Cumani 4-9st 0lbs O T I Racing 5/1
2013 FORGOTTEN VOICE Johnny Murtagh Nicky Henderson 8-9st 0lbs Mrs Susan Roy 3/1
2014 PETHER'S MOON Richard Hughes Richard Hannon 4-9st 1lbs Mr John Manley 11/10 fav
2015 DUBDAY Frankie Dettori J Moh Ghazali 5-9st 1lbs Al Shaqab Racing 11/2
2016 KINGS FETE Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute 5-9st 1lbs Prince Khaled Abdullah 5/2 fav
2017 POETS WORD Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute 4-9st 1lbs Saeed Suhail 7/4 fav
2018 MIRAGE DANCER Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute 4-9st 1lbs Prince Khaled Abdullah 6/5 fav
2019 DESERT ENCOUNTER Jamie Spencer David Simcock 7-9st 1lbs Abdulla Al Mansoori 15/2
2020 PABLO ESCOBARR Tom Marquand William Haggas 4-9st 1lbs Hussain Alabbas Lootah 9/2
2021 PASSION & GLORY Oisin Murphy Saeed Bin Suroor 5-9st 1lbs Godolphin 2/1 fav
2022 REBEL'S ROMANCE William Buick Charlie Appleby 4-9st 3lbs Godolphin 4/5 fav