Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Thursday 26th March 1829
Final meeting: Wednesday 18th April 1838
Today the Holderness Hunt point to point meetings are held on Lord Hotham’s Dalton Estate, but back in the early part of the 19th century the Hunt organised race meetings under rules. The inaugural 2 day meeting took place on a new course in Beverley on Thursday 26th and Friday 27th March 1829. The opening Swelter Cup mile race saw Doctor Russell defeat Don Miguel and remarkably went on to also win the feature Holderness Stakes. The meeting remained popular and well supported by the East Yorkshire Hunting enthusiasts for the next 9 years until a final meeting took place on Wednesday 18th April 1838.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons

Captain Ramsden, Doctor Russell

Principal Races

Holderness Gold Cup, Swelter Cup, Dringhoe Stakes

Thursday 26th to Friday 27th March 1829

The Swelter Cup over a mile
1. Doctor Russell owned by Mr M Maxwell
2. Don Miguel owned by Mr Davidson
3. Lucifer owned by Mr Hall

The Holderness Stakes over a mile
1. Doctor Russell owned by Mr M Maxwell
2. Pantomime owned by Mr D Davidson
3. Comical owned by Mr W Maxwell

Thursday 9th & Friday 10th April 1835

The Dringhoe Stakes over a mile
1. The Miner owned by Mr Hall
2. The Clown owned by Mr E H Reynard
3. Pantaloon owned by Mr W B Wainman

The Holderness Gold Cup over a mile
1. Forester owned by Mr H Hudson
2. The Farrier owned by Mr G H Thompson
3. Diana owned by Mr W Ramsden

Wednesday 18th April 1838

Holderness Gold Cup over a mile
1. The Little Clown owned by Mr Marris
2. Tiger owned by Captain Ramsden
3. Aggravator owned by Mr Simpson

The final meeting took place on Wednesday 18th April 1838
Course today On a new course on the outskirts of Beverley.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com