The 7th running of The O'Darby Stakes, seen as a forerunner to the Irish Derby, was held on Wednesday 11th June 1823 at The Curragh over 1 mile 3 furlongs and 58 yards. Eleven Subscribers paid 25 sovereigns each, with colts allocated 8st 7lbs and fillies allocated 8st 2lbs. The winner was owned by Lord Sligo.


ARROGANCE (Bay colt by Master Goodall out of Folly) SR 1845

GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 ARROGANCE ---- Lord Sligo
2 CONDOR ---- Lord Sligo
3 COLT BY RECORDON ---- Major Kirwan
1/10 fav Lord Sligo's pair    
On Saturday 26th April 1823 Arrogance won the Second Madrid Stakes, beating Triptolemus and Sardanapalus. After winning the O'Darby Stakes, Arrogance walked over for the Seventh Sweepstake on the same day, while on Saturday 14th June 1823 Arrogance was well beaten into third place in a 10 Guineas a side Sweepstake behind Noble and Roller. Also on the same day Condor came last in a 25 Guineas Sweepstake behind Triptolemus and Irishman. On Wednesday 15th October 1823 Arrogance was second in His Majesty's 100 Guineas Plate behind Munster. Three days later, on Saturday 18th October 1823 Arrogance was unplaced in a Handicap Sweepstake behind Starch and Mary Anne.

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to