The 50th running of the Irish Derby was held on Wednesday 30th June 1915 over 1 mile 4 furlongs of The Curragh and saw a significant increase in prize money. Subscriptions were 50 sovereigns with a pot of 2630 sovereigns, 150 sovereigns to the second and 50 sovereigns to the third. The winner was owned by the 5th Baron Decies, bred in Ireland by Colonel R Chaloner Knox, trained by Joseph Hunter and ridden by William Barrett. The winner won by a neck in 2 minutes 39 seconds, with 4 lengths between second and third.


BALLAGHTOBIN (Bay colt by Morganatic out of Fiorenza) SR 1979

The winning owner won 2430 sovereigns, (The equivalent of £237,500 in today's terms based on Bank of England inflation calculator).

GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

Pos. Horse Weight Jockey Owner Trainer
1 BALLAGHTOBIN 9.5 William Barrett 5th Baron Decies Joseph Hunter
2 ACHTOI 9.5 Charles Trigg Mr Adam Mortimer Singer Gwynn Scourfield
3 CROMDALE 8.9 Steve Donoghue Mr Arthur F Bassett Henry S Persse
4 THE REVENGE 8.12 Edwin Piper Mr William J Tatem Etienne de Mestre
5 FITZORB 8.12 Fred Hunter Mr Martin Fitzgerald Charles Morton
6 ULSTER MAN 9.1 William Parkinson Mr John W Widger James J Parkinson
7 CARNWHERRY 8.12 John Doyle Mr Harold S Grey Philip Behan
8 LORD WAVELET 8.12 Charles Ringstead Mr A Lucas Philip Behan
9 RED BRANCH KNIGHT 8.12 Michael Colbert Mr Bartholomew Kirby Bartholomew Kirby
10 LADY PRIM 8.8 Joseph Canty Mr George Dennehy Michael Dawson
11 SAILOR'S LASSIE 8.5 Joseph Rose Mr A McCann Maurice Reidy
12 ROMUS 8.12 Colin Barrett Mr William Hall-Walker Michael Dawson
13 ST CUIMIN 9.5 Joseph Harty Mr F William Parkinson James J Parkinson

There was a short delay at the start when Sailor's Lassie broke the tapes, but the field were soon sent on their way. Lady Prim made the early running from Ballaghtobin, The Revenge and Sailor's Lassie. After 3 furlongs the rider of St Cuimin was unseated causing Carnwherry to lose balance, while Romus was also pulled up when breaking a blood vessel. As the field entered the straight Lady Prim still held a good lead, although Ballaghtobin and Achtoi were going very easily in behind. Approaching the distance Ballaghtobin proved the stronger and went on to win by just a neck from Achtoi, with four lengths back to the staying on Cromdale in third, The Revenge was fourth and Fitzorb was fifth.

7/4 fav Achtoi
7/2 Ballaghtobin
6/1 Cromdale
8/1 Fitzorb
10/1 The Revenge
10/1 Red Branch Knight
100/8 Ulster Man
100/6 Carnwherry
100/6 Lady Prim
66/1 Romus
66/1 Sailor's Lassie
100/1 Lord Wavelet
100/1 St Cuimin
  Over round 124%
FORMLINE:- The impressive winner won by a neck from Achtoi who had finished fourth in the Epsom Derby about 6 lengths behind the highly regarded Pommern (SR 2064) when The Revenge was unplaced. Later Achtoi was third in the St Leger behind Pommern. The winners time was an above average 2 minutes 39 seconds.

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to