The 58th running of the Irish Derby was held on Wednesday 27th June 1923 over 1 mile 4 furlongs of The Curragh. Subscriptions were 50 sovereigns with a pot of 4850 sovereigns, 150 sovereigns to the second and 50 sovereigns to the third. The winner was owned and bred in England by Walter Raphael, trained by William Halsey and ridden by Mornington Wing. The winner won by 4 lengths in 2 minutes 39.8 seconds, with 3 lengths between second and third.


WAYGOOD (Bay colt by Tracery out of Ascenseur) SR 1906

The winning owner won 4650 sovereigns, (The equivalent of £267,300 in today's terms based on Bank of England inflation calculator).

GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

Pos. Horse Weight Jockey Owner Trainer
1 WAYGOOD 8.12 Mornington Wing Mr Walter Raphael William Halsey
2 SOLDUMENO 9.5 Thomas Burns Mr Daniel Sullivan Shem C Jeffery
3 GREEK BACHELOR 9.2 George Archibald 1st Baron Queensborough Peter P Gilpin
4 DARRAGH 9.5 Henri Jelliss Sir Thomas Dixon Lord George Dundas
5 BEECH HILL 8.12 James Dines Mr J S Lowry Charles Prendergast
6 BUACAILL BREAH 8.12 Anthony Barrett Miss M Hayes J Hartigan
7 KING DENNIS 8.12 Joe Canty Mr A McCann Michael Dawson
8 CLONESPOE 8.12 John Moylan Mr N J Grene Ronald Moss
9 SIMON ORB 8.12 E Martin Quirke Mr T G O'Brien Joseph Hunter
10 TOY LABEL 8.12 James Doyle Mr B O'Donnell John Doyle
11 SIMON ROSS 8.12 Michael Colbert Mr Thomas Clarke Michael Dawson
12 ORPINE 8.12 John Patman Mr Charles Kenyon Daniel McKenna
13 JACKDAW OF RHEIMS 9.5 Henry H Beasley Mr James White George Ward
14 TARA HILL 8.12 James Canty Mr M Hartigan Philip Behan
15 IL MELRA 8.8 Denis Ward Mr James Daly James Daly

Arriving at the start in plenty of time, the field got away first time, although both McIlra and Soldumeno were slowly into their stride. It was left to Jackdaw of Rheims to make the early running, closely accompanied by Waygood, Beech Hill and Greek Bachelor. After 3 furlongs Waygood took up the running and set a brisk pace, followed at a safe distance by Tara Hill, Jackdaw of Rheims and Melra. Four furlongs out Waygood was still in the lead, but the slow starting Soldumeno began taking closer order, as did King Dennis. On entering the straight Waygood kept up his relentless gallop, with Soldumeno still trying to get back on terms, but at the distance he began to draw steadily clear to win by an easy 4 lengths from Soldumeno, with a further 3 lengths back to Greek Bachelor, with Darragh in fourth and Beech Hill claiming fifth place.

5/2 fav Soldumeno
6/1 Waygood
8/1 Greek Bachelor
8/1 King Dennis
10/1 Jackdaw of Rheims
10/1 Clonespoe
100/6 Simon Ross
100/6 Simon Orb
100/6 Darragh
20/1 Buacaill Breah
20/1 Orpine
40/1 Beech Hill
40/1 Tara Hill
40/1 Il Melra
100/1 Toy Label
  Over round 118%
FORMLINE:- The winner received 7 lbs from the favourite but won by a comfortable 4 lengths in 2 minutes 39.8 seconds. The winner, Waygood, was unplaced at 25/1 in the Doncaster St Leger behind Tranquil (SR 1951), as was the runner-up Soldumeno who was 40/1 in that final Classic.

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to