The 71st running of the Irish Derby was held on Wednesday 24th June 1936 over 1 mile 4 furlongs of The Curragh. Subscriptions were 70 sovereigns with a pot of 3675 sovereigns, 800 sovereigns to the second and 300 sovereigns to the third. The winner was owned by Mr Sydney Hollingsworth, bred in England by Viscount Furness, trained by Joseph Lawson and ridden by Thomas Burns. The winner won by 1 1/2 lengths in 2 minutes 43.4 seconds, with 2 lengths between second and third.


RAEBURN (Bay colt by Solario out of Harpy) SR 1902

The winning owner won 2500 sovereigns, (The equivalent of £168,000 in today's terms based on Bank of England inflation calculator).

GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

Pos. Horse Weight Jockey Owner Trainer
1 RAEBURN 9.2 Thomas Burns Mr Sydney Hollingsworth Joseph Lawson
2 BATTLE SONG 8.12 Edward Gardner Major Evelyn Shirley John T Rogers
3 HOCUS POCUS 9.5 Joe Canty Mr Harold S Gray Philip Behan
4 BARRYSTAR 8.12 Morny Wing Mr F W Shenstone Walter Nightingall
5 BALA HISSAR 9.5 Charlie Smirke HH Aga Khan III Frank Butters
6 SQUADRON CASTLE 9.5 Henry H Beasley Mrs W P Ahern William A Higgs
7 DYTCHLEY 8.12 Patrick Beasley Mr Ronald L Tree Cecil Boyd-Rochfort
8 AFRICAN SPOIL 8.12 Michael Barrett Mrs Eileen McGrath James J Parkinson
9 GOLDEN LANCER 8.12 Michael Curran Mr Joseph Maher Oliver T Slocock

Joseph Lawson was born in 1881 at Boldon Gint, near the County Durham town of Marsden ad initially became a farm labourer, but had a passion for horse racing and became an apprentice in 1897 to Thomas Barrasford at nearby Marsden Hall. However, his weight was always going to be a problem and cut short his working life as a jockey. He then decided to try his hand at training, joining the successful training establishment of Alec Taylor at Manton. He became a very accomplished trainer, winning the Flat Racing Championship twice, in 1931 and again in 1936, and gaining numerous Classic victories, the first of which was in the 1929 Oaks with Pennycomequick (SR 1906). In 1936 he won the Irish Derby with Raeburn (SR 1902), but did not achieve his lifetime ambition of winning the Epsom Derby until 1954 with Never Say Die (SR 2124). He died in Newmarket in 1964 at the age of 83.

5/2 fav Battle Song
3/1 Bala Hissar
8/1 Squadron Castle
8/1 Raeburn
8/1 Hocus Pocus
8/1 Barrystar
25/1 Dytchley
100/1 African Spoil
100/1 Golden Lancer
  Over round 104%
FORMLINE:- The winner received 4 lbs from the second and 7 lbs from the second favourite, but won by 1 1/2 lengths in 2 minutes 43.4 seconds. Raeburn (28/1) and Bala Hissar (8/1) were previously unplaced behind Pay Up (SR 1968) in the English 2000 Guineas. Bala Hissar (100/6), Raeburn (45/1) and Squadron Castle (100/1) were unplaced behind Mahmood (SR 2020) in the Epsom Derby. Raeburn (9/1) was later unplaced behind Boswell (SR 1924) in the Doncaster St Leger.

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to