The 99th running of the Irish Derby was held on Saturday 27th June 1964 over 1 mile 4 furlongs of The Curragh. Subscriptions were £220 with a pot of £30,000 added. The winner was owned by Mr John Ismay, bred in England by Dr F A Smorfitt, trained by J Michael Rogers at Stepaside Cottage and ridden by William Burke. The winner won by 4 lengths in 2 minutes 35.6 seconds, with a short head between second and third.


SANTA CLAUS (Bay colt by Chamossaire out of Aunt Clara) SR 2073

The winning owner won £53,725, (The equivalent of £1,035,000 in today's terms based on Bank of England inflation calculator).

The Youtube link below is a 2 minute 52 second clip of the 1964 Irish Derby

GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

Pos. Horse Weight Jockey Owner Trainer
1 SANTA CLAUS 9.0 William Burke Mr John Ismay J Michael Rogers
2 LIONHEARTED 9.0 Willie Carr Sir Humphrey de Trafford Cecil Boyd-Rochfort
3 SUNSEEKER 9.0 Bill Pyers Mr James Cox Brady M Vincent O'Brien
4 CRETE 9.0 Garnet Bougoure Lady Honor Svejdar Paddy Prendergast
5 ALL SAVED 8.11 John Roe Mr Joseph McGrath Seamus McGrath
6 DILETTANTE II 9.0 Lester Piggott Mr Lawrence Gelb Paddy Prendergast
7 NEPTUNUS 9.0 T Pat Glennon Mrs Jean Couturie Etienne Pollet FR
8 CARRICKLEE 9.0 Patrick Powell jnr Mrs J P Herdman Charles Weld
9 RED VAGABONDE 9.0 G Pezeril Mr J Henry Kartz C Bartholomew jnr
10 MASTER BARRY 9.0 Mr Joseph McGrath Mr T E Kelly Seamus McGrath
11 FRENCH STAR 9.0 George McGrath Mr Joseph McGrath Seamus McGrath
12 BISCAYNE 9.0 Patrick Sullivan Mrs James Reid John Oxx
13 HORSE POWER 9.0 T P Burns Mr E E Dale Shaffer Michael Dawson
14 OMINOUS 9.0 Peader Matthews Mr Reginald Webster Paddy Prendergast
15 ANSELMO 9.0 Albert Robson Mr Billy Fury Keith Piggott
16 DEVASTATION 9.0 Joe Sime Mrs L McVey Sam Hall
17 HOVERCRAFT 9.0 Jack Purtell Mrs Jacqueline O'Brien M Vincent O'Brien
18 KING PADDY 9.0 Liam Ward Mrs Elizabeth Whitney Tippett Kevin Prendergast
19 MASTER BUCK 9.0 Ryan Parnell Comte Antoine de Laubespin Michael Hurley

The field got away first time and on time, with the expectant crowd forecasting that St Claus would follow-up his Irish 2000 Guineas and Epsom Derby wins. It was Ominous who set the early pace and was allowed to stride many lengths clear, while Santa Claus had only 3 behind him, but as the field rounded the home straight Lionhearted and Sunseeker surged to the front. Santa Claus was making steady progress towards the leaders and took it up in effortless style at the distance to go clear by an easy 4 lengths. Lionhearted held the late challenge of Sunseeker by a short head, with Crete in fourth.

4/7 fav Santa Claus
100/8 Neptunus
100/8 Dilettante II
100/7 Crete
100/6 Lionhearted
20/1 King Paddy
25/1 All Saved
33/1 Hovercraft
40/1 Anselmo
50/1 Devastation
66/1 Master Barry
66/1 Sunseeker
100/1 Ominous
100/1 Horse Power
100/1 Biscayne
100/1 French Star
100/1 Red Vagabonde
100/1 Carricklee
100/1 Master Buck
  Over round 118%
FORMLINE:- The winner won by a comfortable 4 lengths in 2 minutes 35.6 seconds. In all he raced 7 times, winning 4, which included the Irish Derby & Epsom Derby double and the Irish 2000 Guineas.

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to