|LONG EATON SPEEDWAY
This site is not an official website for the track shown here and is neither approved or endorsed by the speedway team.
|Speedway racing has taken place at
the one venue in Long Eaton, at the Stadium on Station Road since 1929. The initial
meeting was held on 18th May of that year which was just a match between two riders,
Arthur Westwood and Billy Ellmore which resulted in a win for the latter. Even in 1930
there was just one meeting held and the team transferred to Leicester.
They returned to Long Eaton in 1949 and by 1951 had joined National League Division 3. They gradually gained experience and rose through the ranks, with a period in the National League in 1979 to 1990. By 1995 they were in the Premier League and enjoyed their best season in 1997.
|The team enjoyed success in the League in 1984, and were Pairs and Four-Team Champions in 1997|
|The first greyhound meeting took place at the Station Road track in Long Eaton on 7th April 1928 and was the start of a long period of greyhound racing in the area.|
|At various times throughout their history the team have been known as the Archers, the Panthers, the Rangers, the Invaders and the Outlaws.|
|This section gives a comprehensive picture of
the badges produced for the team throughout the ages, but only provides the briefest of
glimpses of its history. For those wishing to undertake further research we can recommend
a visit to
and for those wishing to read more widely we recommend a visit to
|To view a complete collection of badges choose the relevant link below:|
More detailed information is available from "Homes of British Speedway' by Robert Bamford & John Jarvis
A further great source of information is provided on John Skinner's excellent website on Defunct Speedway tracks, with a link given below.
For all Speedway enthusiasts, John Somerville’s website should always be your first port of call:-https://www.skidmarks1928.com/v/photos/john-somerville-collection