The 190th Oaks Stakes took place on Friday 31st May 1968 and was won by La Lagune (11/8 fav), by Val De Loir out of Landerinette trained by Francois Boutin, who won by 5 lengths in 2 mins 41.66 secs. The winner won £28,733 (Equivalent to £480,000 in 2017) and there were 14 runners.


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
LA LAGUNE Gerard Thiboeuf Francois Boutin (Fr) Henry Berlin 11/8
GLAD ONE Bill Williamson J Oxx (Ire) Mr J McShain 10/1
PANDORA BAY Taffy Thomas Barling Major C H Nathan 33/1
HARDIESSE Joe Mercer Noel Murless Mr H F Oppenheimer 100/6
KYLIN I Johnson Kevin Prendergast Mrs D Bell 50/1
HILL SHADE Brian Taylor Noel Murless Mr G A Pope 25/1
RIMARK Lester Piggott M Vincent O'Brien (Ire) Mr J Cox Brady 100/7
CELINA Sandy Barclay Noel Murless Mrs J R Hindley 10/1
DENOSA L Ward M Vincent O'Brien Mr Charles Clore 33/1
OUR RUBY Frankie Durr J W Watts Mr E A Holt 20/1
GOLDEN MOSS J Roe John Oxx (Ire) Lord Donoughmore 25/1
PHOTO FLASH Jimmy Limdley T Waugh Mr H J Joel 7/1
STELLA NEGRA Ron Hutchinson P Kearns (Ire) Mr R R Guest 33/1
LADY WILDER David Yates Doug Marks Mrs T B Orton 200/1
      Over Round 109%
For further information on this Classic race 'The Oaks Stakes' by Michael Church provides a comprehensive history of the great race. It is a limited edition volume, limited to 650 copies, and is available from Amazon ISBN 1910498289