The 192nd Oaks Stakes took place on Saturday 6th June 1970 and was won by Lupe (100/30 fav), by Primera out of Alcoa trained by Noel Murless, who won by 4 lengths in 2 mins 41.46 secs. The winner won £31,319 (equivalent to £473,000 in 2017) and there were 16 runners.

LUPE SR 1924

Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
LUPE Sandy Barclay Noel Murless Mrs Gladys Joel 100/30
STATE PENSION Duncan Keith Peter Walwyn Mrs D McCalmont 10/1
ARCTIC WAVE Yves Saint-Martin F Palmer (Fr) Mr J R Mullion 40/1
NIAMARA Bill Williamson Elsey Count Ivan Batthyany 15/2
AMPHORA John Gorton Bruce Hobbs Mr J Weston-Evans 100/1
PERONELLE G Thiboeuf Francois Boutin (Fr) Mr H Berlin 28/1
PRIME ABORD Lester Piggott J Cunnington (Fr) Mr Nelson Bunker Hunt 5/1
WHITEFOOT Jimmy Lindley Harry Wragg Mr R B Moller 22/1
BON APPETIT Maurice Philipperon J Cunnington (Fr) Mrs S M Castello 8/1
BLACK SATIN Ron Hutchinson John Dunlop Mr W L Reynolds 100/9
HOPTON ASH Greville Starkey Steve Norton Mr P Blydall 100/1
RAINBOW BAY Edward Hide W Wightman Mrs E A Wynne-Hughes 100/1
FRENCH SCORE Geoff Lewis S McGrath (Ire) Mr S McGrath 7/1
MACAW Frankie Durr P Dawson Mrs B P Gourdeau 100/1
PULCHRA Brian Jago Sirett Mr B W Hager 50/1
TORA SANTA George Cadwaladr Eric Cousins Mr Robert Sangster 50/1
      Over Round 112%
For further information on this Classic race 'The Oaks Stakes' by Michael Church provides a comprehensive history of the great race. It is a limited edition volume, limited to 650 copies, and is available from Amazon ISBN 1910498289