Royal Ascot: Queen Alexandra Stakes

The Queen Alexandra Stakes, named after the consort of King Edward VII, is a flat race over 2 miles 5 furlongs and 159 yards open to horses aged four years or older. It was established in 1864, and it was originally called the Alexandra Plate. It later became known as the Alexandra Stakes, and it was given its current title in 1931. It was formerly contested over 2 miles, 6 furlongs and 34 yards, but it was shortened as a result of the realignment of Ascot's track in 2005. The Queen Alexandra Stakes, the longest flat race in Britain, is traditionally the last race on the final day of the five-day Royal Ascot meeting. It sometimes features horses which ran on the opening day in the Ascot Stakes, and the most recent to win both in the same year was Simenon in 2012.
Early history:- A massive field of 29 contested the very first running of the Alexandra Plate, forerunner of the Queen Alexandra Stakes, over the Old Mile on Friday 10th June 1864. It was won by Mr J Lowe's Anglo-Saxon (20/1) who defeated Crisis (5/1) and Exchequer (8/1) by 2 lengths and a length and a half.

Alexandra Plate 1874 Conditions race Old Mile course (3 miles)
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 KING LUD Custance Joe Cannon 5-9st 6lbs Lord Lonsdale 100/30
2 BOIARD Carver Thomas Carter 4-9st 5lbs Mr Henri Delamarre 60/100 fav
3 FLAGEOLET George Fordham Tom Jennings 4-9st 5lbs Mr M Lefevre 6/1
4 REVIGNY Carratt Aumont (Private) 5-9st 6lbs Mr M Aumont 10/1
5 THE PREACHER Jewitt Joe Cannon 4-9st 0lbs Lord Lonsdale 20/1
The Alexandra Plate, forerunner of the Queen Alexandra Stakes, was held over the Old Mile on Friday 19th June 1874 when won by a bay horse by Voltigeur out of Qui Vive, won a first prize of 1550 sovereigns from 22 subscribers (equivalent to £177,000 in 2020). Over round 112%
Queen Alexandra Stakes Conditions race 2 miles 5 furlongs 159 yards 1864
        1864 1865 1866 1867 1868 1869
1870 1871 1872 1873 1874