Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1845 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 THE LIBEL Arthur 3-7st 7lbs Mr A W Hill 4/1
2 KNIGHT OF THE WHISTLE Nat Flatman aged-9st 3lbs Lord Chesterfield 7/4 fav
3 THE HERO Donaldson 2-4st 4lbs Mr John Day 20/1
4 LOADSTONE Jem Chapple 3-7st 7lbs Lord Lonsdale 20/1
5 PYRRHA T Rodney 2-4st 1lb Mr Thompson 20/1
6 DISCORD W Howlett aged-9st 3lbs Lord George Bentinck 4/1
7 MASTER STEPNEY Whitehouse 3-7st 7lbs Mr Mostyn 20/1
8 SYLLABUS S Mann 3-7st 4lbs Mr Worley 20/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 10th June 1845 and the winner, a brown colt by Pantaloonn out of Pasquinade, won a first prize of 105 sovereigns from 11 subscribers (equivalent to £13,000 in 2020). Over round 101%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845