Royal Ascot: Queen Mary Stakes

The Queen Mary Stakes, named after Queen Mary, the consort of King George V, is a Group 2 flat race over 5 furlongs open to two-year-old fillies, and is staged on the second day of the Royal meeting. The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and for a period the Queen Mary Stakes was classed at Group 3 level, but it was promoted to Group 2 status in 2004.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Queen Mary was on Tuesday 14th June 1921 when a huge entry of 109 subscribers led to a field of 21 runners. The winner was Wild Mint (8/1), owned by Mr W Whineray, trained by H Cottrill and ridden by Shatwell, defeating Selene (7/2) and Merrily (10/1) by 2 lengths and the same.

Over the entire history of the race 33% of favourites have been successful. (19th out of 32 Royal Ascot races)

Over the entire history of the race a level stakes bet on every favourite would have resulted in a 0.6% loss. (8th out of 32 races)

Queen Mary Stakes Group 2 5 furlongs
Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1921 WILD MINT Shatwell H Cottrill Mr W Whineray 8/1
1922 COS G Hulme R Dawson HH Aga Kahn 7/2
1923 MUMTAZ MAHAL G Hulme R Dawson HH Aga Khan 1/4 fav
1924 MARGERITTA G Archibald Fred Darling Lord Woolavington 2/1 fav
1925 ALOYSIA Joe Childs W Jarvis HM The King 5/1
1926 BOOK LAW R Jones Taylor Lord Astor 7/2 fav
1927 STADACONA H Beasley Atty Persse Major D McCalmont 5/1
1928 ARABELLA C Smirke P Gilpin Lt-Col Giles Loder Evens fav
1929 QURRAT-AL-AIN M Beary R Dawson HH Aga Khan 8/11 fav
1930 ATBARA P Beasley Vic Gilpin Lt-Col Giles Loder 20/1
1931 DIAMALT H Wragg Holland Mrs V D Sainsbury 100/9
1932 SUPERVISOR G Richards F Darling Mr Fred Darling 3/1 jt fav
1933 MAUREEN G Richards F Darling Lord Woolavington 5/2 fav
1934 CARETTA G Richards F Darling Lord Lonsdale 6/4 fav
1935 FAIR RANEE S Donoghue R Dawson Vicomte De Fontarce 100/8
1936 NIGHT SONG P Beasley Boyd-Rochfort Mr J H Whitney 4/1 fav
1937 QUEEN OF SIMLA C Smirke Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 20/1
1938 BELLE TRAVERS D Smith Frank Butters Mr T Lant 3/1
1939 SNOWBERRY G Richards F Darling Lord Lonsdale 4/1
1940 Race was not staged due to the Second World War
1941 SUN CHARIOT Harry Wragg Fred Darling HM The King 11/8 fav
1942 SAMOVAR Michael Beary Atty Persse Lord Wyfold 100/6
1943 FAIR FAME F Lane J C Waugh Mrs Lavington 15/2
1944 SUN STREAM Harry Wragg Walter Earl Lord Derby 100/30
1945 RIVAZ Charlie Elliott Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 4/7 fav
1946 APPARITION Gordon Richards Fred Darling Mrs Macdonald-Buchanan 11/8 fav
1947 MASAKA Charlie Smirke Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 4/1
1948 CORONATION V Charlie Elliott France M Marcel Boussac 7/2
1949 DIABLERETTA W Johnstone Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 7/4 fav
1950 ROSE LINNET Doug Smith Reg Day Mrs A Johnston 10/1
1951 PRIMAVERA Manny Mercer Jack Jarvis Lord Milford 100/6
1952 DEVON VINTAGE Manny Mercer R J Colling Mr R C Boucher 100/8
1953 SYBIL'S NIECE Manny Mercer Jack Jarvis Lord Milford 100/6
1954 BRIDE ELECT F Barlow H Cottrill Major L B Holliday 8/1
1955 WEEBER Scobie Breasley Peter Nelson Mr J Olding 10/1
1956 PHARSALIA Lester Piggott H Cottrill Major L B Holliday 100/7
1957 ABELIA Lester Piggott Noel Murless Col B Hornung 11/2
1958 A.20 Bill Rickaby Sutherland Mr H Clifton 5/1 fav
1959 PADDY'S SISTER George Moore Paddy Prendergast Mrs J Mullion 15/8 fav
1960 CYNARA Willie Carr Harry Wragg Mr G Oldham Evens fav
1961 MY DREAM Doug Smith G Brooke Mr David Robinson 2/1
1962 SHOT SILK Doug Smith G Brooke Lt-Col D Cripps 100/8
1963 LERIDA Jimmy Lindley J A Waugh Mrs Macdonald-Buchanan 9/2
1964 BRASSIA J Purtell M V O'Brien Mr Arpad Plesch 7/2
1965 VISP Jimmy Lindley J Watts Mr E Benjamin 6/4 fav
1966 PETITE PATH Jimmy Lindley R Mason Mr R Mason 33/1
1967 SOVEREIGN Ron Hutchinson Harry Wragg Mr R Moller 10/11 fav
1968 GRIZEL Bill Williamson Paddy Prendergast Colonel W Stirling 5/2 fav
1969 FARFALLA Tony Murray Doug Smith Mr D Van Clief 13/2
1970 CAWSTON'S PRIDE Brian Taylor F Maxwell Mr L Hall 2/1 fav
1971 WATERLOO Edward Hide J W Watts Mrs R Stanley 9/2
1972 TRULY THANKFUL Tony Murray H R Price Mr G Van Der Ploeg 14/1
1973 BITTY GIRL Bruce Raymond Michael Jarvis Mr David Robinson 11/2
1974 HIGHEST TRUMP John Roe Dermot Weld Lord Petersham 5/2
1975 RORY'S ROCKET Tony Murray Ashworth Mrs W Slaytor 33/1
1976 CRAMOND Joe Mercer Ron Boss Mrs S Eldin 25/1
1977 AMARANDA Lester Piggott Harry Wragg Mr R Moller 4/5 fav
1978 GREENLAND PARK H White William Hastings-Bass Greenland Park Ltd 15/2
1979 ABEER Willie Carson Jeremy Tree K Abdulla 7/1
1980 PUSHY Joe Mercer Henry Cecil Lord Tavistock 7/1
1981 FLY BABY Paul Cook Richard Hannon Malden Farms Ltd 40/1
1982 WIDAAD Walter R Swinburn Michael Stoute Maktoum Al Matoum 13/8 fav
1983 NIGHT OF WIND Bruce Raymond M McCormack Mr P Durkan 50/1
1984 HI-TECH GIRL Greville Starkey Peter Makin Intercraft 16/1
1985 GWYDION Steve Cauthen Henry Cecil Mr S Niarchos 2/1 fav
1986 FOREST FLOWER Pat Eddery Ian Balding Mr Paul Mellon 9/4 jt fav
1987 PRINCESS ATHENA Willie Carson David Elsworth Mr H Senn 9/1
1988 GLORIELLA John Reid John McLoughlin Mr J McLoughlin 8/1
1989 DEAD CERTAIN Steve Cauthen David Elsworth Commander G G Morten 8/1
1990 ON TIPTOES Dean McKeown J P Leigh Mr J W Rowles 8/1
1991 MARLING Gary Carter Geoff Wragg Sir Edmund Loder 11/4 fav
1992 LYRIC FANTASY Michael Roberts Richard Hannon Lord Carnarvon 11/8 fav
1993 RISKY Walter Swinburn Richard Hannon Roldvale Limited 11/2
1994 GAY GALLANTA Walter Swinburn Sir Michael Stoute Cheveley Park Stud 16/1
1995 BLUE DUSTER Mick Kinane David Loder Sheikh Mohammed 7/4 fav
1996 DANCE PARADE Mick Kinane Paul Cole Prince Fahd Salman 8/1
1997 NADWAH Richard Hills Peter Walwyn Hamdan Al Maktoum 10/1
1998 BINT ALLAYL Frankie Dettori Mick Channon Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 2/1 fav
1999 SHINING HOUR Jimmy Fortune Peter Chapple-Hyam Mr R E Sangster 20/1
2000 ROMANTIC MYTH Kevin Darley Tim Easterby Mr T G Holdcroft 4/1
2001 QUEEN'S LOGIC Steve Drowne Mick Channon Jaber Abdullah 13/2
2002 ROMANTIC LIASON Pat Eddery Brian Meehan Mr F C T Wilson 16/1
2003 ATTRACTION Kevin Darley Mark Johnston Duke of Roxburghe 13/8 fav
2004 DAMSON Jamie Spencer David Wachman Mrs J Magnier/M Tabor 11/2 jt fav
2005 FLASHY WINGS Ted Durcan Mick Channon Jaber Abdullah 4/1 jt fav
2006 GILDED Richard Hughes Richard Hannon Mrs J Wood 11/2
2007 ELLETELLE Johnny Murtagh Ger Lyons Jesse Club Syndicate 20/1
2008 LANGS LASH Alan Munro Michael Quinton Mr John Hanly 25/1
2009 JEALOUS AGAIN John Velazquez Wesley Ward Abrams, Brewer, Ward, Dutko 13/2
2010 MAQAASID Richard Hills John Gosden Hamdan Al Maktoum 9/4 fav
2011 BEST TERMS Richard Hughes Richard Hannon Mr R Barnett 12/1
2012 CEILING KITTY Richard Kingscote Tom Dascombe The Master Bettors & A Black 20/1
2013 RIZEENA James Doyle Clive Brittain Sheikh Rashid Dalmook 6/1
2014 ANTHEM ALEXANDER Pat Smullen Edward Lynam Noel O'Callaghan 9/4 fav
2015 ACAPULCO Ryan Moore Wesley Ward Smith/Tabor/Magnier 5/2 fav
2016 LADY AURELIA Frankie Dettori Wesley Ward Stonestreet St./Bolton/Leidel 2/1 fav
2017 HEARTACHE Adam Kirby Clive Cox Hot To Trot Syndicate 5/1
2018 SIGNORA CABELLO Oisin Murphy John Quinn Phoenix Th/Zen Racing 25/1
2019 RAFFLE PRIZE Frankie Dettori Mark Johnston Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed 18/1
2020 CAMPANELLE Frankie Dettori Wesley Ward Stonestreet Stables 9/2
2021 QUICK SUZY Gary F Carroll Gavin Cromwell (Ire) Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners 8/1
2022 DRAMATISED Danny Tudhope Karl Burke Clipper Logistics 5/2 fav