Richard Gauthier Collection

Haydock Park Racecourse

The earliest record of racing taking place in the vicinity of Haydock was in 1751 on Golbourn Heath when the races were known as Newton races, the principal race being the Newton Hunt Cup. Regular meetings were staged at Newton-le-Willows from 1807 until 1898, after which Haydock Park was launched. The inaugural two day National Hunt meeting was on Friday 10th and Saturday 11th February 1899 (comments and results shown below), although it had been planned for the week before but was abandoned due to frost, followed by a meeting under Jockey Club rules in May (first race result shown below) and again in August. By 1908 Sydney Sandon had become Secretary of Haydock Park Racecourse, beginning the process of firmly establishing the course as one of the most prestigious in the country. The course closed between 1939 and 1945, returning on Wednesday 14th August 1946, and a year later Sheila’s Cottage won a 3 ½ mile Chase on Friday 28th November 1947, using it as a springboard to Grand National success the next year. The Lancashire Oaks, formerly contested at Manchester, was transferred to Haydock in 1963, while in 1966 the Vernon’s Sprint Cup was introduced to the Haydock programme when Be Friendly won for the popular BBC commentator Sir Peter O’Sullevan. The new grandstand was opened in 1990, maintaining Haydock’s place as one of the top dual code racecourses in the country. Currently hosts 32 fixtures annually.
Friday 12th May 1899
The Golborne Park Plate over 5 furlongs

1. Beatitude (9/4), owned by Mr E Hobson and ridden by Rickaby
2. Shearling (6/4), owned by Mr J G Elsey and ridden by Weldon
3. Veritas (10/1), owned by Mr Garratt Moore and ridden by W Freemantle

1939 Lancashire Oaks CESTRIA
1947 Lancashire Oaks SMOKESCREEN
1948 Lancashire Oaks YOUNG ENTRY
1949 Lancashire Oaks EYEWASH
1950 Lancashire Oaks DUTCH CLOVER
1951 Lancashire Oaks DOLLARINA
1952 Lancashire Oaks STREAM OF LIGHT
1953 Lancashire Oaks HARVEST FESTIVAL
1954 Lancashire Oaks BLUE PRELUDE
1955 Lancashire Oaks JENNY LIND
1956 Lancashire Oaks HUSTLE
1957 Lancashire Oaks LOBELIA
1958 Lancashire Oaks ST LUCIA
1959 Lancashire Oaks NOBLE LASSIE
1960 Lancashire Oaks CHOTA HAZRI
1961 Lancashire Oaks IRRISTABLE
1962 Lancashire Oaks FRENCH CREAM
1963 Lancashire Oaks RED CHORUS
1965 Lancashire Oaks WITHOUT REPROACH
1966 Lancashire Oaks ROYAL FLIRT  Haydock Sprint Cup BE FRIENDLY
1967 Lancashire Oaks THE NUN Haydock Sprint Cup BE FRIENDLY
1968 Lancashire Oaks BRINGLEY
1969 Lancashire Oaks GAMBOLA  Haydock Sprint Cup TUDOR MUSIC
1970 Lancashire Oaks AMPHORA  Haydock Sprint Cup GOLDEN ORANGE
1971 Lancashire Oaks MAINA  Haydock Sprint Cup GREEN GOD
1972 Lancashire Oaks STAR SHIP  Haydock Sprint Cup ABERGWAUN
1973 Lancashire Oaks ISTIEA  Haydock Sprint Cup THE BLUE
1974 Lancashire Oaks MIL’S BOMB  Haydock Sprint Cup PRINCELY SON
1975 Lancashire Oaks ONE OVER PARR  Haydock Sprint Cup LIANGA
1976 Lancashire Oaks CENTROCON  Haydock Sprint Cup RECORD TOKEN
1977 Lancashire Oaks BUSACA  Haydock Sprint Cup BOLDBOY
1978 Lancashire Oaks PRINCESS EBOLI  Haydock Sprint Cup ABSALOM
1979 Lancashire Oaks REPROCOLOUR  Haydock Sprint Cup DOUBLE FORM
1980 Lancashire Oaks VIELLE  Haydock Sprint Cup MOORESTYLE
1981 Lancashire Oaks RHEIN BRIDGE  Haydock Sprint Cup RUNNETT  Peter Marsh Chase LITTLE OWL
1982 Lancashire Oaks SING SOFTLY  Haydock Sprint Cup INDIAN KING  Peter Marsh Chase BREGAWN
1983 Lancashire Oaks GIVE THANKS  Haydock Sprint Cup HABIBTI  Peter Marsh Chase ASHLEY HOUSE
1984 Lancashire Oaks SANDY ISLAND  Haydock Sprint Cup PETONG
1985 Lancashire Oaks GRAECIA MAGNA  Haydock Sprint Cup OROJOYA
1986 Lancashire Oaks PARK EXPRESS Haydock Sprint Cup GREEN DESERT Peter Marsh Chase COMBS DITCH
1987 Lancashire Oaks THREE TAILS Haydock Sprint Cup AJDAL Peter Marsh Chase THE THINKER
1988 Lancashire Oaks ANDALEEB Haydock Sprint Cup DOWSING
1989 Lancashire Oaks ROSEATE TERN Haydock Sprint Cup DANEHILL Peter Marsh Chase BISHOPS YARN
1990 Lancashire Oaks PHARIAN Haydock Sprint Cup DAYJUR Peter Marsh Chase NICK THE BRIEF
1991 Lancashire Oaks PATRICIA Haydock Sprint Cup POLAR FALCON
1992 Lancashire Oaks NIODINI Haydock Sprint Cup SHEIKH ALBADOU Peter Marsh Chase TWIN OAKS
1993 Lancashire Oaks RAINBOW LAKE Haydock Sprint Cup WOLFHOUND Peter Marsh Chase JODAMI
1994 Lancashire Oaks STATE CRYSTAL Haydock Sprint Cup LAVINIA FONTANA Peter Marsh Chase ZETA’S LAD
1995 Lancashire Oaks FANJICA Haydock Sprint Cup CHEROKEE ROSE Peter Marsh Chase EARTH SUMMIT
1996 Lancashire Oaks SPOUT Haydock Sprint Cup IKTAMAL Peter Marsh Chase SCOTTON BANKS
1997 Lancashire Oaks SQUEAK Haydock Sprint Cup ROYAL APPLAUSE Peter Marsh Chase JODAMI
1998 Lancashire Oaks CATCHASCATCHCAN Haydock Sprint Cup TAMARISK Peter Marsh Chase GENERAL WOLFE
1999 Lancashire Oaks NOUSHKEY Haydock Sprint Cup DIKTAT Peter Marsh Chase GENERAL WOLFE
2000 Lancashire Oaks ELA ATHENA Haydock Sprint Cup PIPALONG Peter Marsh Chase THE LAST FLING
2001 Lancashire Oaks SACRED SONG Haydock Sprint Cup NUCLEAR DEBATE
2002 Lancashire Oaks MELLOW PARK Haydock Sprint Cup INVINCIBLE SPIRIT Peter Marsh Chase RED STRIKER
2003 Lancashire Oaks PLACE ROUGE Haydock Sprint Cup SOMNUS Peter Marsh Chase TRUCKERS TAVERN
2004 Lancashire Oaks PONGEE Haydock Sprint Cup TANTE ROSE Peter Marsh Chase ARTIC JACK
2005 Lancashire Oaks PLAYFUL ACT Haydock Sprint Cup GOODRICKE Peter Marsh Chase LORD TRANSCEND
2006 Lancashire Oaks ALLEGRETTO Haydock Sprint Cup REVERENCE Peter Marsh Chase EBONY LIGHT
2007 Lancashire Oaks TURBO LINN Haydock Sprint Cup RED CLUBS Peter Marsh Chase THE OUTLIER
2008 Lancashire Oaks ANNA PAVLOVA Haydock Sprint Cup AFRICAN ROSE
2009 Lancashire Oaks BARSHIBA Haydock Sprint Cup REGAL PARADE Peter Marsh Chase CLOUDY LANE
2010 Lancashire Oaks BARSHIBA Haydock Sprint Cup MARKAB Peter Marsh Chase OUR VIC
2011 Lancashire Oaks GERTURDE BELL Haydock Sprint Cup DREAM AHEAD
2012 Lancashire Oaks GREAT HEAVEN Haydock Sprint Cup SOCIETY ROCK Peter Marsh Chase ACCORDING TO PETE
2013 Lancashire Oaks EMIRATES QUEEN Haydock Sprint Cup GORDON LORD BYRON
2014 Lancashire Oaks POMOLOGY Haydock Sprint Cup G FORCE Peter Marsh Chase WYCHWOODS BROOK
2015 Peter Marsh Chase SAMSTOWN Lancashire Oaks LADY TIANA Haydock Sprint Cup TWILIGHT SON
2016 Peter Marsh Chase CLOUDY TOO Lancashire Oaks ENDLESS TIME Haydock Sprint Cup QUIET REFLECTION
2017 Peter Marsh Chase BRISTOL DE MAI