Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Monday 19th July 1728
Final meeting: Saturday 18th May 1907
The Yorkshire seaside resort of Scarborough first held races on Monday 19th July 1728 when the results were recorded in Baily’s Racing Register. The principal race, the Scarborough Plate over 2 miles, was won by the unfortunately named Cripple. Races continued on its famous beach in 1751 when a match was staged over half a mile between an unnamed black gelding owned by Captain Casebourne and ridden by Captain Jennison, and an unnamed bay horse owned and ridden by Captain Vernon. The black gelding prevailed and won his owner 180 Guineas. Within six years the first four day affair took place, once again on the beach, starting on Tuesday 6th September 1757 and continuing until Friday 9th September. By 1762 the course was being widely accepted as one of some importance and results from Monday 19th to Wednesday 21st July 1762 were included in the Racing Calendar. The 4 mile Purse was won by Mr Southerton’s Elephant, while the Scarborough Stakes went to Mr Preston’s Flora. It was not until 1867 that the races moved from the precarious beach surface to a purposely laid out grass track. In that year the Scarborough Race Company was formed and the new course developed on Seamer Moor.  The course was round with a circumference of 10 furlongs and a 3 furlong run in, although a 4 furlong straight course merged with the main course. The first meeting was held on Monday 24th August 1868 when the principal race was the Prince of Wales Stakes. Although the final Flat race meeting was on Saturday 26th August 1893, when the Prince of Wales Plate was won by Lord Downe’s Mill Mount, National Hunt racing continued to be staged until the final card on Saturday 18th May 1907.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons

Lord Downe, Captain Machell, Miles L’Anson

Principal Races

Prince of Wales Stakes, Derwent Steeplechase, Spa Plate, Scarborough Handicap, Corporation Purse

Monday 19th July 1728

Scarborough Plate over 2 miles
1. Cripple owned by Mr Atkinson
2. Smiling Tom owned by Mr Gallant
3. Country Wench owned by Mr Wardle

19th to 21st July 1762

Scarborough 4 mile Purse
1. Elephant owned by Mr Southeron
2. Miss Thornville owned by Mr Preston
3. Stapleton Dick owned by Mr Stapleton

Scarborough 2 mile Stakes
1. Flora owned by Mr Preston
2. Spider owned by Mr Thorp
3. Lady owned by Mr Fenwick

Tuesday 27th to Friday 30th August 1782

Scarborough Noblemen & Gentlemen’s Purse over 4 miles
1. Young Morwick owned by Mr Vever
2. Hermit owned by Mr Hutchinson
The winner was the 4/7 favourite

Scarborough Corporation Purse over 3 miles
1. Alfred owned by Mr Witty
2. Minor Cock owned by Mr Dalton
Minor Cock was the 4/6 beaten odds on favourite.

Friday 25th to Saturday 26th August 1893

The Prince of Wales Plate over 5 furlongs
1. Mill Mount owned by Lord Downe
2. Red Agnes owned by Mr David Cooper
3. Terse owned by Mr James Snarry

The Spa Plate over 5 furlongs
1. Khartoum owned by Mr W L’Anson
2. Maxovitch owned by Mr T Bruckshaw
3. Sparkenhoe owned by Mr J G Menzies

The Scarborough Handicap Plate over 1 ¼ miles
1. Lady Maud owned by Mr R C Vyner
2. Lady Killer owned by Mr P Buchanan
3. Scent owned by Mr H Wilkinson

Although the final Flat race meeting was on Saturday 26th August 1893, with the results of that final meeting shown above, National Hunt racing continued to be staged until the final meeting on Saturday 18th May 1907.

Course today

After racing ceased the land was used by the Navy and then acquired by Scarborough Corporation.

If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to