The 184th winner of the St Leger, held on Saturday 10th September 1960 over 1 mile 6 furlongs and 132 yards of Town Moor, was St Paddy, a bay colt by Aureole out of Edie Kelly, owned by Sir Victor Sassoon. A field of 10 runners contested the race which was worth £29,500. (Equivalent to £631,300 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
ST PADDY Lester Piggott Noel Murless Sir Victor Sassoon 4/6 fav
DIE HARD Garnie Bougoure A O'Brien Mr J McShain
VIENNA Tommy Gosling Walter Nightingall Sir Winston Churchill
OAK RIDGE Edward Hide W Elsey Mr E W Beechey
ANARAM II Roger Poincelet H Nicholas M Marcel Boussac
HANS ANDERSEN Alec Russell Lyde Mr A G Delahooke
SPARTAN GREEN Geoff Lewis R Smyth Mr Freddie Laker
OFF KEY Eph Smith Noel Murless Sir Victor Sassoon
CHRYSLER III M Garcia Peter Walwyn Sir A Jarvis
BALAJI Doug Smith Harry Wragg Mr R J Sigtia
The winner won by 3 lengths in 3 minutes 13.2 seconds, with a length and a half between second and third. In a career spanning 14 races St Paddy won 9 and was second twice. Over Round N/A

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to